The Out Of Season Shorts

Aaaaaaand I’m back from San Juan, with a light tan on my face and a longing for the Caribbean in my heart. Our trip was lovely, but completely exhausting, just like always. Why is it that I always need a vacation from my “vacations”? I never come home feeling refreshed, I come home feeling like I’ve just been kicked around for a few days and could use a nice lie down. Does anyone else have that issue?

But I did manage to get a few photos snapped of myself between all the struggle. (Note to self, must invest in tripod or risk wonderful relationship with awesome mother). So here it is, another incarnation of Simplicity 7688. Waring, wrinkles ahead:

I actually made this garment and the other creation I will be showing you this week at least a month ago, but of course the Philadelphia weather wouldn’t have allowed me to model these, and besides, I really made them to take to Puerto Rico. It does, however, feel really strange to be sewing something out of season. Do you sew seasonally, or are you an anything goes type of person? Just like I only drink red wine in the winter and white wine in the summer (it’s the done thing, darling, didn’t you know?) I have, up until this point, crafted based on the temperature outside. But I must say, it was oddly liberating to be sewing off-season! It filled me with such anticipation, and when I finally got to wear the damn things I felt so fulfilled! I really must stop being fulfilled by my clothing….

So. Many. Wrinkles. Especially around the, um, crotch area. I know I should be castigating myself for the bagginess, but I actually really like the fit of these shorts. They are loose, especially in the waistband, and comfortable to the extreme. I added two inches to the hem, just like I did the last time I made them.

I’m so happy when I’m in profile.

The fabric is from the hoarder stash, a pale linen-cotton blend (…I think…). The zipper actually ALSO comes from the hoarder stash, and the snaps I used on the waistband came from my grandmother. So these shorts were virtually free, if you disregard the cost of the pattern, which was about a dollar, and the thread, which was leftover in my stash but, presumably, something I once bought at one time.

I hand stitched the hem, and hand-picked the zipper. But these shorts are so easy they probably took me 3 hours from cutting to catch-stitching.

I used the same fabric to make my Meringue skirt muslin, and then I had a length of it left and I thought, hey, why don’t I make some late 1960’s style shorts? And so I did. Like you do.

I just didn’t have quite enough fabric to make a wider waistband, so instead I have this tiny business, which I don’t adore, but shall live with, because one does what one must.

Back view, baby. I personally think these shorts are ideal for the Caribbean. Lightweight, light colored, with just enough vintage charm to avoid saying “I just jumped off the cruise ship and want to gawk at San Juan and walk around in horrible t-shirts and sneakers and refuse to speak any Spanish because why don’t YOU speak AMERICAN?”. Can you tell I have some mild disdain for tourists from cruise ships? And here I thought I was hiding it so well…

The top of my head may be cut off, but my blissful expression is clear.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, a little San Juan street art:

Coming up this week, my Meringue goes Latin, a recent failure becomes someone’s delight, my March sewing kicks into high gear, and I depart for a brief trip to Chicago (what a jetsetter, right?) on Friday! Let’s hope I can deliver all that before my flight….

9 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

9 responses to “The Out Of Season Shorts

  1. maybe you should try longer vacations.. next time you should stay in caribbean for 3 weeks, that sounds like a proper thing to do :)

    i don’t mind seasons really.. i often drink cold beer in the middle of winter, and i don’t mind wearing my dresses all year round.. coats are my only seasonal garments (but i sew one of them in the summer, on a very very hot day

  2. So very anit-cruise, dahling! Everyone deserves a post-vacation vacation. And soon you’ll need two! I usually sew whatever I fancy, but as you can see, I am trying desperately of late to become more organized and seasonal in my approach. Beer, wine, spirits? Well, certain bebidas do lend themselves to the weather. But if it’s a great drink, then I’ll drink it.

  3. Yay, vacaciones! I like to make things seasonally because I want to wear them right away! I couldn’t get excited about making a pair of shorts if I didn’t have a reason to wear them right away.

    I’ve never considered a cruise– it just seems like they’re for people who aren’t interested in really seeing the places that they travel to (I’m mean, too). They’re just big, floating buffets!

    • Right? I feel like cruises are the ultimate in bad tourism, they allow you to see a pretty picture without having to deal with, gasp, locals!

      I’ll admit it was hard to have these finished and ready to wear and not be able to wear them, but THEN when I got to San Juan it was like, oooooh, new stufffffffff.

  4. Pingback: For ME? You shouldn’t have! (And something for you too, plus winners!) | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

