The “April Is The Cruelest Month” Top

I don’t want to sound like a low rent comic, here, but what is the deal with this spring weather? After a cold winter we here in Brooklyn we have been enjoying a cold and chilly Spring. Ah, well, it is what it is, and after all:

April is the cruelest month, breeding
Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing
Memory and desire, stirring
Dull roots with spring rain.
Thanks, T.S. Elliot, you’re the best. The rest of the poem can be found here. Also, side note, for someone who is, in life, not that into poetry, I sure as hell am throwing a lot of it down on this blog, now, aren’t I? Bizarre. I’ll have to talk to some booze about that.
Still, I don’t mind it all that much, except that I happen to believe I look a whole hell of a lot cuter when the weather is warmer, sigh. But on the other hand, I did get to make a lot of cold-weather things this past winter, and now I’m trying out transitional things for this temperamental season we call “spring in the mid-atlantic”. Not quite New England, not the South, but somewhere stuck between the Mason-Dixon line and the Cape, we few, we happy few, we band of mercurial-Spring havers.
So I’ve been trying to make things that look cute, remind me of Spring, and are warm enough to survive my commute and daily needs. It’s been a challenge, but what are you going to do? If you are me, you are going to buckle down, you are going to suck it up, and you are going to make a silk dupioni blouse!
AITCM 1Recognize the pattern? It’s the blouse from Simplicity 3688, that lovely 40′s reproduction business I’ve made once before.¬† I have altered it EVEN MORE! Bahahahaha. I omitted the waste tucks, lengthened it by four inches, added two darts¬† to the existing three on each sleeve cap, and lowered the neckline. Oh, and I did french seams throughout. For next time, and oh yes, there WILL be a next time, for such a simple blouse it really works for me and I always get compliments when I wear it, I plan to lower the neckline just a smidge more, but keep the rest as it is, this length is perfect for me!
AITCM 4See? See how happy I am with the length?
AITCM 3Oh, and I cut the back on the selvage and seamed it together. I do that so often now I kind of forget it’s an alteration!
AITCM 6I love my expression here, like, oh, really, a photo? I couldn’t possibly, despite having set up the tripod and the timer and jumped into place for this photo. It’s all so unexpected!
AITCM 5I love the yoke, I really do, I don’t know why it’s so flattering but somehow it is.
AITCM 2That expression says, I am, indeed, feeling like a pimp, and I shall, in due time, be brushing my shoulders off, if I didn’t have such qualms about ending a sentence with a preposition.
The fabric is, as I said, a silk dupioni, one I bought at the Pennsylvania Fabric Outlet a year and a half ago for, get this, 1.98 a yard. WHAT THE WHAT? It was a steal. I got a bunch, and I still have some…what to do, what to do. It has a lovely texture that you can see in this closeup:
AITCM 8The leaves sort of shimmer a bit in the light.
Fun fact about this photo, I wanted to get a close up and I was alone at home so I just took off my shirt and took the photo. I can do that because I also make these CURTAINS!
AITCM 7I made them for most rooms of our apartment. It’s been a recent sort of boring but totally important and useful project. I also made the futon cover which you can sort of see, it’s the red sofa on the right. Anyway, home decor, it’s a bitch, but when I do it’s just so satisfying!
In other news, can it get a little warmer soon? I think I’m making the best of it but seriously. SERIOUSLY. Ah, well. Elliot and I will just have to live.
PS: I promise I did make a Mad Men inspired dress, though I’m past the deadline, but I will be posting it soon just for your viewing pleasure, I swear! Stay tuned!

8 Comments

Filed under Simplicity Patterns, Uncategorized, Vintage

8 responses to “The “April Is The Cruelest Month” Top

  1. Judi

    Cute blouse…pretty fabric! We’re all pretty much skipping spring…30 degrees here tonight…unreal. Your curtains are cute too!

  2. I never really gave that pattern the time of day, but your modern silk version is just adorable. It looks really soft and comfy. What a great fabric find! Congrats and enjoy wearing it! sewingforme.wordpress.com

  3. Pretty blouse! Love the texture of the fabric. And I totally hear you on the weather. We got a freeze and some snow on Tuesday, so we’ll have to see if there’s any major damage to the wheat. Because around here, even if you aren’t a farmer your livelihood still depends on the crops….

  4. senjiva

    It is lovely. I think the reason the yoke is so flattering is because it is up near the face and well clear of the bust so it doesn’t create ‘imaginary giant bustiness’. (ok so i made that phrase up). I’d be tempted to try that pattern as well! Will you be participating in Me-Made-May 2013?

  5. Very cute. And it sounds like you got an amazing deal on the fabric. I really like the yoke as well.

  6. It looks great on you and what a steal! I could completely commiserate with you on the weather until yesterday when we finally started having some warmth and sunlight. Spring in Seattle? Unheard of! It is a lot easier to look cute in the morning if it isn’t freezing.

  7. Agreed. NY spring is long overdue…your blouse is a perfect transitional piece, though!

  8. Pingback: The Dream Big Top | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

