Illness:1, Craftiness: 0

I’m sick. So sick. My throat hurts and my nose runs and the most distressing thing is my voice, which sounds like a frog or a troubling fairytale gatekeeper of some sort. I’m the reason goats really shouldn’t cross streams. I’m like a Dianne Wynne Jones villain. I’m a struggle.

So you would think that given my infirmity and the fact that I’m playing hooky from work I would have a lot of time to sew. But I don’t. I mean, I’ve got the time, but I have no energy, nor hand eye coordination, and it feels like those symptoms coupled with cough medicine mean I shouldn’t be operating any kind of machinery. And I could force my mother to take more photos of me in garments I have already crafted, but given just how cute I look right now (picture an all fleece wardrobe, fake ugg slippers I bought in China, my hair doing all kinds of things to defy the laws of gravity, and a tea cup nestled into my  hand. It’s hot, right? I know. I know. ) I didn’t think that would be a great idea.

So, instead, I have decided to update you on a few projects that are currently wasting away in my very messy sewing room. Other blogs I’ve read call these sorts of things UFOs, or unfinished objects, which is hopelessly cute, honestly. So here are some things I’m making or thinking about:

1.

 

The Franzi Vest

I had a bunch of purple tweed left over from my Purple Tweed Sweetheart Skirt, as well as purple lining from the same project. So I’m making a vest. It’s actually the Franzi Vest, which is a FREE PATTERN! at BurdaStyle.com. I’m going to use bound buttonholes, which is fairly scary.

2.

 

I bought this pattern online and am so excited to make it!

I’ve made the Muslin for it already, (first muslin! Wow.) and it fits me very well. I might bring down the neckline a bit, though, right now it’s very Big Love. Thoughts? Disagreements? Ideas? I think I’m going to make the shorter variation in wool. Color commentary?

3.

 

Seam Binding Bonanza!

I got this shirt from Gap Outlet for 5 dollars. In this photo, 13 yards of seam binding is currently festooning it in an homage to Jackson Pollock… I’m just kidding. I hate Pollock! But I love seam binding, it’s thinner then ribbon and iridescent, and it’s about 30 cents a yard at PA Fabric outlet. So I’m going to combine these two elements sometime soon, and save myself the 50 dollars I could pay J. Crew for the same item. Ha. I love it when I beat J. Crew.

But I’m not going to do any of these things today. Today, I’m curling up with gallons of tea, oceans of soup, Cold Eeze, Netflix and my cats. I’m sure my sewing machine appreciates the rest.

3 Comments

Filed under Burda Style, Clothing, Embellish, Sewing, Vogue Patterns

3 responses to “Illness:1, Craftiness: 0

  1. Mary Gridley

    Hi Sweetie, Sorry you are sick. But illness is no excuse for incorrect spelling. Pollock, not Pollack. Instead of lowering the neckline, why don’t you add some flat trim in a color close to the fabric? If it’s wool, I’m thinking that shiny interwoven stuff that looks like Frogs (the closures, not the reptiles), or maybe something matte–depends on the color. Or you could go all out and do fake jewels!! xoxM

  2. I’m sorry, Mary, it must have been illness induced delirium. I’ve correctly that, mea culpa, mea culpa!

    I love the trim idea. It will of course depend on the color wool. I would do jewels, I would, but the concept of hand sewing in all the jewels has my laziest self shuddering. I think I’m going to put the zipper in by hand, though, so maybe I will get in a groove….

  3. Diana Wynne Jones!! How have we never talked about this? She was my favorite as a kid. I wrote to her, and we had a correspondence for a few years – she even got me an internship at her publishers. Dogsbody! Charmed Lives!

Leave a Reply

