Admitting it is the first step

I have a problem. There, I said it. And I have to admit, it feels good to finally write that down. It feels, well, right. What a relief. And what is my problem, you might ask? It’s a bad one, guys, it’s a terrible one. Friends, Romans, Countrymen, I can’t. Stop. Buying. Fabric. Like, really, can’t seem to stop myself. Every time I tell myself it’s the last time, but then I see a sale chiffon, or a discounted denim, God help me, a clearance section cotton, and I just get sucked in all over again. To watch them cut that nice clean line, to hold yards and yards of cloth in my hands, what a rush! What a feeling! It’s addictive. Truly addictive.

I tell myself I can quit anytime. I promise myself that it’s over. But then I walk down fabric row, or peruse the project gallery at BurdaStyle, or log onto Etsy, and I’m pulling back in. Off the wagon, chasing that fabric dragon all over again. And please don’t get me started on trim. It’s a gateway supply.

So having made some significant purchases today, including the wool and lining for my Vogue Patterns dress!, I have decided, this is it. I have to put a moratorium on fabric buying, at least for a little while. I jump off the wagon come April, though. A girl can only be so strong for so long…

With this in mind, I would like to present to you some of the swaths of cloth currently littering my fabric stash, in the hopes that some of you will have advice as to what to do with these beautiful pieces that I drooled over, bought, and promptly realized I have no idea what to do with them. All suggestions would be useful. Seriously. Help an addict out, here.

2 yards of knit cotton from PA Fabric Outlet (2 dollars a yard!)

3 yards of silk from PA Fabric outlet, also 2 dollars a yard!

3 yards of cotton from the sadly defunct Aunt Bea's Fabric

3 yards of rather bizarre but kind of amazing silk from Jomar

3 yards of what I like to call Mayan Baroque, sort of what Bach would wear if he took a trip to Peru, from Jomar

2 yards of amazing cotton from Aunt Bea's Fabric

2 and 1/2 yards of adorable Beatrix Potter illustrated toile style cotton. I have no idea what to do with this. Anything I think of seems unbearably cutesy. PA Fabric Outlet.

This isn’t everything. But it’s a lot. And it’s all I have to work with for at least a few months. So help me out, and tell me what to do. Come on. You know you want to.

2 Comments

Filed under Fabric

2 responses to “Admitting it is the first step

  1. Pingback: Captain’s Log: April 11th, 2011 | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  2. Candy

    Oh lordy, that bizarre silk with the camels on it is brilliant. If you are still having trouble deciding what to do with it then you could always sell it to me, maybe even make yourself a little profit to indulge in more fabric buying?!

    great blog,
    Cheers,
    Candy

Leave a Reply

