Be Mine: Not So Plain Jane Pajamas

I have never had a date on Valentine’s Day. I’ve had dates and hook ups and hang outs and whatever completely ambiguous word the kids are using these days (can we just say date, please, so I know that’s what’s actually happening? Because otherwise I’m completely in the dark), before Valentine’s Day, and after Valentines’s Day, but never right there on Valentine’s Day. Now,  I know it’s a terrifically lame holiday made up by card companies and chocolate manufacturers and we should show people we love them all the time and blah blah blah logic. I can rationalize it all I want. I can rationalize anything, it’s an essential part of human existence and survival. But rationality always gets a rough backhanded slap to the face around February 14th when every single person in the universe appears to be coupled up and you are sitting all alone telling yourself that it’s perfectly acceptable to eat your body weight in fries and/or drink your body weight in the fermented beverage of your choice.

But I’m trying not to be bitter about this, and instead take joy in all the love around me. Or some crap like that.  I guess this is my “I choose me” moment. And in the spirit of that, I made this lingerie/pajama set, in, drumroll please, SATIN! Oh, how luxurious indeed!

So shiny!

 

I had all this black lace leftover from an embellished sweater project, and I knew I had to do something interesting with it, because I love the lace, I just hadn’t loved it all over a sweater.

 

I think it's a little Boardwalk Empire, no?

 

I used Burda Style’s Jane Pattern . I got two yards of deep rich wine colored satin from Jomar Fabrics (huge sketchy warehouse full of appliances and imitation designer clothing and tons of fabric, worth it if you have time to unearth treasures, it’s like the Forever 21 of fabric stores but far dirtier) at 2 dollars a yard (score! I love Philadelphia).

 

I added three inches to the short legs on the pattern. I'm comfortable with that decision.

 

I love this. I feel so pretty and comfortable in it, and I think it turned out fairly well. Of course, it’s completely inappropriate for February on the East Coast, but beauty is pain, right?

Mr. Malevolent loves it. There, I got a date. Isn't he handsome?

 

I still have some lace left. Crap. Any ideas?

3 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Sewing

3 responses to “Be Mine: Not So Plain Jane Pajamas

  1. Victoria

    Hi
    I am trying to make these pjs for a friend of mine, and I printed off the pattern today. The only piece of the pattern that I could put together was the front of the top. The rest of it just looks like random lines that don’t match dispite my tripple checking that the letter/number codes are in the correct place. Did you have trouble putting the pattern together? Or is it just me.

    Thanks
    Victoria

    • Hmmm, I don’t know! I didn’t have a problem with putting together the pattern, and I think that if the top was okay then the rest of it should work out. Is it scaled correctly? Is there a “print at copy-shop” option? Oh, I wish you luck, putting together patterns is the worst!

  2. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

