Quite The Investment Vest

I have this completely strange fear about buying too little fabric. I’m terrified of running out of the fabric I need and not being able to complete aproject. I know this is odd, but it’s real. I wonder if there is some kind of medical term for this…

So I end up overbuying fabric. Or rather, I overestimate how large I am and how much fabric will be needed to cover my body. I also blame this on patterns. For example, I’m working on this dress by Vogue patterns. The fabric recommendation for the variation I’m using was 3 and 5/8 yards. Just to be safe, I bought 4 yards. I have cut out my pieces and I have literally over a yard and a half left. I mean, COME ON, I don’t mind, the fabric is gorgeous, but it wasn’t cheap, and I could have saved myself over ten dollars, which would have been nice. I could have bought a drink! At a lot of bars in Philadelphia I could have bought TWO drinks! What is Vogue, my sponsor?

I can’t really blame anyone for this project I just completed, though, because it’s totally my own fault. I bought some purple and black tweed and purple lining fabric at my beloved if trashy Jomar. It was 100% wool (the tweed) at 3 dollars a yard. The lining is like 99 cents a yard. That place is magical. I wanted to draft my own pattern for a sweetheart waistline skirt. Which I did. Which I love, and wear all the time, mostly to plays, actually, it’s my playgoing skirt. You can see it here.  But of course I had a plethora of purple tweed and lining leftover, and of course it wasn’t enough to make a jacket or something substantial, but wasn’t small enough that I could relegate it to my rag bag or turn it into cat toys. What to do, what to do…

So I made a vest. Of course. To quote one of my favorite shows, The League: “Hey, the vest works. Have you seen Mark Harmon on NCIS lately? It works”. Classic. But despite this, I made a vest, because I really like vests, and because I had a FREE PATTERN! (Burda Style Franzi Vest!) and it seemed easy. It…wasn’t.

 

It's a little asymmetrical, but I like that sort of thing.

This is the first garment I’ve made that is fully lined. Additionally, my machine is a fairly old and simplistic and can’t do buttonholes. But I can make bound button holes, which are infinitely more difficult. I used no fewer then three tutorials and am not sure that I really did it correctly and ended up being like, screw it, this seems to work, let’s just make it happen. They look great, though! I mean, I’m happy with them. You never forget your first time….

 

Buttons from PA Fabric Outlet. Of course. Where else?

I found the instructions rather tricky but to be fair, I ALWAYS find instructions tricky. I have to read instructions somewhere in the neighborhood of 8 times before they start to make sense. Does anyone else have this issue? And with the lining it was pretty touch and go, but I’m very proud of this vest. It’s the ultimate hipster garment, A, it’s a vest, B. it’s made of supremely ironic purple tweed, C. I made it myself. If I get some clove cigarettes and stop washing my hair South Philadelphia will worship me as it’s Queen.

Don't worry. I'm not actually going to wear this outfit outside. It's just for picture purposes.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Burda Style, Clothing, Fabric, Sewing

One response to “Quite The Investment Vest

  1. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

