Who Are You Calling Easy? Dress

I can’t believe it, but I finally finished this dress. Look, I don’t know if it’s just because I have only been sewing since May or because there is some disconnect between my mind and my hands, but I think I’m a fairly slow sewer. I read about these people who can whip something up in a scant few hours and my jaw drops. Case in point, the lovely and talented Tasia of Sewaholic who made this amazing dress in six hours. COME on. Really? Really. Fully lined. This dress took me two full weeks. Granted, I was not sewing the entire time, I’m not THAT slow. But I bought this wool fabric at Jack B. Fabrics two weeks ago, and I also picked up a zipper, the lining and the lace for the lining hem at my beloved PA Fabric outlet. (Coincidently, on my walk home I entered an Avon sweepstakes and actually WON! Thank you, Avon! That never happens!) Cutting all the pieces took me forever (and I still have a solid helping of the wool left, but I’ve expressed my feelings on that subject in my vest post…), and then, of course, putting it all together had it’s fair share of struggles. And they call this a Very Easy pattern…

The pattern is Vogue 8615. I love it. I drooled over it for a while and then broke down and bought it. Gertie of Gertie’s blog for better sewing (which I adore) made it in a shantung which is divine , but I went for wool.

There was a lot of hand sewing with this dress. I had to hand sew the lining sleeves to the bodice, and then the bodice lining to the skirt lining. I also handpicked the zipper, with an extremely informative tutorial by Sewaholic.

I also put lace on the lining hem, as per Tasia’s suggestion. I kind of love it, it’s the kind of detail that only the wearer can see but it’s one of those lovely vintage touches that makes something special. I love this lining color, don’t you? I think it makes a nice contrast.

Those shoes were my grandmother’s. My grandmother absolutely loved to shop. For everything. And when she passed away she left something in the neighborhood of 50 pairs of shoes, some of which she never even wore. This is one of those 50 pairs. I got a lot of her shoes, so you will be seeing the Isolda Kogan Solo collection of footwear quite often. Get excited.

I love the neckline on this dress. It’s modest but it also shows of collarbone, and I feel like as long as you’ve got that you are more “hello sailor” then “living in a Mormon compound”.

And the back is so lovely. I love the v-back, it’s unexpected and cute.

Do you like the teased hair? Yet another tutorial, this time from Veronika of Tick Tock Vintage. No fewer then 4 tutorials went into making this “very easy” dress.

The scarf was also my grandmother’s, one of countless scraps of silk and polyester. The bag is from Astro Vintage, a favorite store of mine here in Philadelphia.

See? Not easy. Pretty, yes. Love the fit? Yes. But not easy. I need at least 3 dates and several phone calls before I will let you try anything, buddy. Does that sound easy to you?

7 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Sewing, Vogue Patterns

7 responses to “Who Are You Calling Easy? Dress

  1. The dress is stunning and well worth the time you invested in making it!
    I find it difficult to make anything quickly – partly because I want the finished product to look good, but mostly because I think that I am just slow.
    I love that lace sewn into the hem! I think I’ll include that next time Imake a dress or a skirt.

  2. Oh, thank you! I appreciate that! I sometimes worry that I’m degenerate in some way because I can’t do things as quickly as other people seem to be able to, but then I think, oh, well, at least I stretch out the enjoyment! The lace hem is delightful, it’s such a nice detail. I’m planning on making it a part of most of my dresses and skirts from now on.

  3. Pingback: Would You Could You Copycat? #1 | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  4. Pingback: Fall Palette Challenge 2011! Woooo! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  5. Pingback: Fall Palette Challenge #1 and #2- The Screw Scallops Skirt and the Pro-Peter Pan Shirt | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  6. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

