Fecund but thrifty blouse

As part of my long, dark, painful fabric buying hiatus (just gotta hack it. Just. Gotta. Hack. It.) I’ve been doing a bit of what the kids call stash busting these days. Part of why I’m doing this is because if I didn’t, my mother would yell at me. And I hate when she yells at me. So the stash, she must be busted, or at least beaten and lightly bruised. Now, I am giving a touch of fabric away in my GIVEAWAY (enter here!). But there some things I’ve been hoarding that I love to much to surrender to strangers (albeit very nice strangers! thanks for commenting, guys!). But sometimes I look at this pile of fabric I’ve amassed (which isn’t even that much, MOM, I promise, all the other kids have way more! All the other kids are doing it!) and I think, hmmm, what on earth shall I do with you?

In my mind there are two types of fabric buying. You buy with a project in mind, or you buy because you see it and you think, if you build it, he will come. And people seem to be pretty divided on this issue, as in, what comes first, the pattern or the fabric? And my answer to that is…yes.  And this project was more the latter then the former. You see, my beloved PA Fabric outlet sometimes has a one dollar fabric basket, and the last time I let myself buy something a green floral and a silky pink caught my eye. The pink I’m keeping in reserve, I think it would be great for a slip or another set of satiny 20’s style pajamas. But the green I thought would make a nice top, and I own very little that is green. Plus, I promised to abuse my fabric collection, and this seemed like a fairly painless way to do so.  And I loved the floral print, so vaguely Liberty of London (which…I may never be able to afford), so fertile, so floral, so fecund. So I made myself this:

I used the JJ pattern, which is a FREE PATTERN from Burda Style. This pattern was actually the second full garment I had ever made. It’s a really great and easy to use pattern, though the first time I made it I did not find it easy at all, obviously. It also includes 3 ruffles per front side, but I had to omit them both because of a lack of fabric and because I thought it might all be too busy.

 

I look so angry! In my defense, it was cold.

As a result of the fabric shortage (I feel like it’s the 1st world war!) I also had to shorten the shirt, which doesn’t exactly thrill me, but luckily I wear a lot of high waisted skirts, so hopefully this wont be a problem! I think it looks okay here, right?

Wow, my hair is super fluffy.

This blouse has lovely gathered sleeves:

And a cute stand-up collar:

The lip color? Korres Wild Rose Lip Balm. I just adore it. And here I’m laughing because my mother just told me to shut the hell up. Which….fair.

The skirt is H and M, by the way. My friend Becca has the exact same one. Luckily we live in different cities, or every day would start with a consulting phone call to make sure we weren’t dressing like twins. The buttons are also PA Fabric outlet. I was going to do snaps, because I’m afraid of buttons and my machine has neither a button hole foot nor a button hole setting, but I girded my loins, as one does, and just tried it out.

They aren’t the best thing in the world, so you don’t get to see a photo, but I feel that they will get the job done. The shoes were my grandmothers:

 

Glamor Shot!

So there you go. Free pattern, 1 dollar fabric, 6 buttons for 1.25. Take that, stash.

7 Comments

Filed under Burda Style, Clothing, Sewing

7 responses to “Fecund but thrifty blouse

  1. LOVE this blouse, especially your version. Just downloaded the pattern. :}

  2. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  3. Pingback: Me Made May 11, 12 and 13 (skirting the issue) | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  4. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Cheers

  5. I don’t even understand how I ended up here, but I assumed this publish was once good. I do not realize who you are however definitely you are going to a famous blogger when you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

