Struggle Dives In/ Did someone say something about Fabric?

Holy. Hell. I’ve just done something kind of crazy. I’m not in any way a spontaneous person because I think it tends to masticate you in the glutials (every. damn. time.) But a favorite sewer/blogger/designer/superwoman of mine, Zoe, has been hosting these amazing events, month long marathons in which seamstresses and crafters pledge to wear a garment (or more) that they have created each day of a month. She created Self Stitched September and Me Made March and now, in complete disregard for alliteration, she’s added Me Made June, and I, poor sad novice sewer, have actually signed up. I’m going to do it. One month, 30 days, a minimum of one hand made self created piece of clothing per day.
‘I, Leah Franqui, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-June ’11. I endeavour to wear one home made garment each day for the duration of June 2011’

Scaryface. Would you like to join in this madness? You can sign up here.

In other news, I was recently having dinner at my grandfather’s house and we were exploring his enormous clutter filled attic (it’s bi-level. I might cry, there is so much stuff up there. Sigh.) We found not one but TWO vintage typewriters, a framed photo of Eleanor Roosevelt (I have no idea why I’m surprised by this) and a large box of fabric!

And three metal zippers! And two vintage patterns IN MY SIZE! And since I’m the only person in my whole family who sews, I took it all home with me. All of it. Would you like to see some of this amazing stuff? but of course!

A gorgeous 1960's upholstery fabric. Maybe I could make a skirt or pants? Or even be daring and make a dress? What do you think, a cute suit?

Next up we have:

Striped Shirting, of which I have over five yards...oh dear.

And this:

This is one of four funky curtains. Maybe a nice dress? What do you think?

Or this:

I adore this butterfly floral business, it must be late 60's/early 70's. It feels like upholstery or bottom weight, but I don't know what do with it.

This might be my favorite:

This is a linen, and I couldn't love it more. I have about 2 and a half yards. What to do,what to do...

I only have a wee little bit of this:

I'm seeing an apron, no?

And finally, (for now, guys, it’s SO MUCH FABRIC!):

One of a few white shirtings, I love the raised pattern! I have over three yards of this, I'm thinking a white JJ wouldn't go amiss and might be really helpful when I need basics come June...

Yay for vintage fabric, yay for Me Made June and Yay for MAY! Join in, guys, it’s going to be awesome!

6 Comments

Filed under Fabric

6 responses to “Struggle Dives In/ Did someone say something about Fabric?

  1. Goodness! I love these! What a wonderful find!!!

  2. wow, you´re so lucky, such great fabrics! I love the florals, and that mushroom linen, oh my! I would make dresses, tote bags, skirts… maybe pillows?

    • I do feel extremely lucky, but also bewildered, and a little sad because there is no way I can justify buying anything new for at least a little while, and I do so love buying fabric…must not, however, must be good. I think the butterfly floral would be a cute skirt and I adore the blue upholstery, do you think it would be weird to make a garment out of it?

      • I like the blue fabric too, but personally I think the print is too big for a garment… my guess is that this kind of print doesen´t look good on a figure, as it makes one appear bigger…

  3. I understand what you mean, but I do love it so…

Leave a Reply

