The Very Beneficial Dress

First off, I’m going to have to apologize to you because the photos for this and for my next series of projects are simply not going to be my best. I forced strangers to snap a few photos of this project at the Nichole Canuso Dance Company benefit, thinking I would be able to take more later. And I suppose I still could, but the simple fact is, dear readers, I’ve broken my foot! Yay!

I’m trying to be positive, but honestly, it’s a bitch. I literally put my foot on the ground and the thing fractured. I could go into more detail but I’ve already done so over at Embrace The Struggle, so you can read about my misadventures with injuries here.

So I have just taken some photos of this dress on a hanger to show you the bones of the dress,  and you can see some of the crazy party photos to see me actually having fun in the dress, foot undamaged, eyes bright with white wine and excitement, but that’s all you get, I’m sorry! And for the next four weeks or so I fear there will be some fairly staid all seated shots of yours truly in her various concoctions. On the bright side, I injured my left foot, not my sewing/driving foot, so I can still pump out frocks and tops and skirts etc, in fact, I’ve set up my swivel chair in such a way that I can just spin from machine to drafting table to ironing board and back again! How clever am I?

Onto the photos! First of all, check out the cool space, Underground Arts at the Wolf Building, all decorated and lit for the creepy-funhouse vibe we were attempting (succeeding?) :

Isn’t it cool?

Nichole Canuso herself is actually in this photo, she looks tiny, which is fair, because she's about my height...

I thought it looked great! In addition to the little dresses (which were auctioned off in a packet with an amazing Couture Cat made by the lovely and amazing Laura of Trash Planet), I also made 13 scrap birds (because it was Friday the 13th, get it? GET IT?) Here are a few of them:

I love making these. Apart from being an efficient use of scraps, it’s like a fun gallery of my past projects. But enough stalling, onto the dress!

This dress is one I made to wear to this benefit, and beyond, obviously, and I made it using New Look 6723. And it looks a little something like this:

Yeah, I look super shiny. Sigh. Flash can be the worst, guys.

Special thanks to the VERY nice people at the Benefit, Jen, Elizabeth and some other guy, who took these photos. My mother thinks this dress makes me look like a milkmaid. But you know, I’m actually okay with that!

Me and my creepy creepy cut out boyfriends.

I do so love the sweetheart neckline. It makes for a bit more décolletage then I usually show, but I’m actually quite comfortable with that. I think that might be because nothing else about this dress is in anyway revealing, it’s really quite cute, which I feel like compliments but doesn’t overwhelm. And besides, everyone once in a while you just have to let the neckline drop, if only for special occasions. Besides, I got SEVERAL compliments on my, um, mamilla, so I feel pretty good about the bodice cut.

No kiss?

And here is me bartending, which gives you a side view of the frock and let’s you see the way the fabric when cut into the skirt has a kind of chevron effect, which I do so enjoy:

And here is my tough bartender face, all, what, no tip? Or maybe I’m just mad because my bra strap is showing.


This dress is actually a snap to put together, even for a non-master like myself. The hardest part is the neckline, which I had to rip and re-do, everyone’s favorite sewing task. I hand picked the zipper, and the hook and eye I used was actually from the massive heap of sewing notions and thread etc. left by my grandmother. It currently occupies a great deal of space in the Target Brand plastic four tiered organizer I used in college for papers and use now for my stitching life. The hook and eye might be a trifle big for this dress, but I wanted to incorporate something from my stash of Isolda’s goodies, so it’s worth it for me.

Hand picking a zipper isn’t lovely on the inside, but it more then compensates with how nice it looks on the outside.

And one last photo to describe how much fun I had A. In this dress and B. at the benefit:

Thank you so much, everyone who came, or contributed, or even had happy thoughts about the event!

14 Comments

Filed under Fabric, Notions, Sewing, Simplicity Patterns

14 responses to “The Very Beneficial Dress

  1. Oh, you poor thing! That sucks!

    Your dress looks really cute though. 🙂

  2. That looks like one sturdy piece of leg-mending kit! I really like your scrap birds. Do you have a tutorial for those? Or can you point me in the right direction?

  3. That’s an adorable dress, AND it’s super flattering on you! I, too, occasionally enjoy a nice milkmaid look. Sorry about the foot, though, that does not sound like fun.

  4. that is such a cute dress! when i saw your jump shot, i thought it looked like a romper! I heart rompers and jump shots!

    • Haha, thank you! I love jump shots too, but I have to be completely honest, I look TERRIBLE in rompers, so they have earned my eternal disgust…but other people make them work!

  5. Oh No!! Sorry about your foot! that looks painful! onto happy thoughts…the dress is FABULOUS! I love it!!!

    • Thank you so much, Debi! It’s super simple, too, and there is a boatnecked version I might try in satin for a formal Orthodox Jewish wedding to which I’ve been invited ( the invitation says black tie and modest attire, it’s been a real struggle to find anything that works! Might as well make it, I suppose….)

  6. cute dress! and I really like the print, folksy yet the tiny floral print is pretty trendy right now, too.

    you make for a very adorable milkmaid! love that last pic – looks so fun!

  7. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  8. Pingback: The One Year Later Dress | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

