The South Philadelphia Sweetheart Skirt

Yesterday we had a reading at the theater company for which I work. It went well, if you were wondering, but it was not, actually, the most interesting thing that happened at work. The most interesting thing was this:

which we found graffitied on our wall. Way to stay classy, South Philadelphia.

You see, I work in South Philadelphia, bastion of stupid things. Now, let it be said that I do like this neighborhood. Great restaurants, lovely people, a veritable plethora of funeral homes (I do wonder why they call them homes, don’t you?). It’s a paradise of greasy hipsters, performing artists (there is a bit of crossover here, let’s be honest), excellent brunch places, ironic bikes, dogs,  large Italian families, cheap rents, large Mexican families, gardens, murals, and mummers. It’s a good time. But every once in a while something happens that makes me roll my eyes and sigh.

Of course this isn’t limited to this area, my own neighborhood, Northern Liberties, recently has faced a spate of murders which is…..fun. But I have a loyalty to the North which the South may never get from me. So it wasn’t that surprising to see that we had been graffitied over the weekend by someone whose name is presumably Kris. I suppose he wants to take over our organization. I see this as an act of war, really, it’s like his invasion of Poland. I called the anti-graffiti network, and they actually took care of it this very day, but it was still up yesterday when I had our lovely box office manager, Joe, take my photo in my new skirt. And so I figured, why not use the natural environment around me, right?

The pattern, Burda Style’s FREE PATTERN, the Marie skirt,  is one I’ve used before with my My Lips Your Lips Tulips Skirt. I like the pattern a lot, and I had some wool blend fabric left over from my Rear View Pants so I figured, why not?

This is a good pattern for leftovers, you can squeeze it out of small amounts of material, espeically if you don’t cut the pieces on the fold and just live with the seam lines. I cut the front on the fold and cut the back on the selvedge line, which is fun because then I didn’t have to finish that seam. (Internal high five). It’s also really fast, this pattern. It took me, like, 2 hours, which for me is a record low.

So sad. Kris is the worst.

This wool is more drapey then the poplin, so the pleats are softer. I don’t hate it, it’s just a different effect. But I’m glad there is some stretch in this wool, because otherwise the narrow hem-line can be a bit restrictive.

But it’s a great “young professional working in the non-profit sector in the arts” skirt. It’s a tall order, I know, but I think it pulls it off.

The one issue I have with this style is that it has a lot of excess fabric in the back, because of the pleats. I don’t really need a lot of help in the “junk in the trunk” department, so if I make this pattern again I will eliminate that.

Yep. Picturesque South Philly. It’s an upper.

But at least I look cute!

And I even did something with my hair:

Which is good, for that Nordic Princess look.

The graffiti may be gone, but it lives on, here, and in the hearts and minds of all who believe. Thanks, Kris.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

1 Comment

Filed under Burda Style, Clothing, Sewing

One response to “The South Philadelphia Sweetheart Skirt

  1. Pingback: Not Only Is It 2012, But It’s Also Almost My One Year Blogiversery! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

