The Must You, Darling? Pants

Well, I certainly wouldn’t want anyone to make a fuss, or anything, but I made another pair of pants. Actually, pants isn’t really the right term for what I made. I made trousers. Honesty to god trousers. Wide legged 1940’s style sick baller awesome rockstar trousers. Miss Marple style solving crimes, making romantic connections and generally achieving at life trousers. Bam. Like you do. When you literally win at life.

I made these pants over my winter break from work, but I didn’t get the chance to photographer them until yesterday. I paired them with a vintage sweater I recently picked up at a shop in Old City, which in my mind looks very cute, but in reality looks a bit waist-less. Oh, well. You can’t have everything.

Usually I dilly-dally with words, but this time, here it is, photos of my triumph. Read mortals, and weep:

Yeah. That’s right. Trousers. These come by way of Simplicity 3688, a lovely vintage reproduction pattern. The pattern actually includes a skirt, which I’ve made, a jacket, a blouse and these pants. High waisted, wide legged and full of delightful vintage flare, these pants were on my to-make list for about a year. A year, people. That’s, like, the entire lifespan of a honey-bee. Think about it.

But I was afraid, really. Pants. PANTS. I began sewing about a year and a half ago. Back then, did I think I could make a thing like pants? Absolutely not. I was like, tote bag? BLOWING MY FRACKING MIND. And now I make pants. My, how times have changed.

Okay, yes. They are a bit wrinkled. And yes, I’m in the middle of an upscale thrift store. I got a t-shirt for my mom for 5 dollars. You don’t know my LIFE.

So I made these from a wool I got from my beloved Jomar for 5 dollars a yard. I got 3 yards, which, at Jomar, where the cutters are as generous as they are surly, means about 3.5 yards. I made these pants, and a pencil skirt (post to come) and I still have a fair amount left. Jacket muslin? Mini-skirt? Who can say.

I look sadly devoid of waist in these photos, ,which is sad, because I have a lovely waist, it’s one of my favorite things about my body. Oh, well.

I made my lovely friend Laura take these photos. Laura is the best, and she humored me while we took these in the middle of Buffalo Exchange, an excellent thrift/resale store which we both deeply enjoy. These pants look very elegant with these four-inch Steve Madden heels. They don’t look quite as elegant with my typical Dansko Mary Janes, but if one balances the comfort of one versus the style of the other, I will take my Danskos any time.

Let’s talk about the butt, shall we? How nice do I look back there? These trousers fit me well in the posterior, I must say.

I am super short. Well, not SUPER short, like my beautiful and awesome friend Jenny, who is Shakira sized, but fairly short. Fun fact, of my three best friends from college, two of them are not only my height (5′ 2″ and 1/2″ ) but also my shoe size! (8.5). Yeah. We did not become friends over such things, but they ended up being this weird thing between us. I can’t complain. All the ladies I know have excellent taste, and I love being able to scour their wardrobes for goodies. At least, I could when we lived in the same place. Now, I just dream.

Still, I was worried about these wide legged trousers. But I honestly think they can make short ladies look good, when they are hemmed to the right height.

That’s the trick, right?

The sweater, you ask? Acrylic. Probably late ’50 or early 60’s.

I love it. It’s a touch loose but so comfortable and I adore the shape .

This is a side view. Here is the thing about high-waisted trousers, they can’t highlight a great feature (your waist) while screwing a feature you might actually like (your tummy) that isn’t %100 flat. LIKE ANYONE’S IS. But  I love these, I feel so grown up in them.

Laura suggested that I stand in 4th position, and I thought that was nuts. And then I did it. And it worked so well.

That’s Laura on the side. It’s a shame she wouldn’t let me shoot her in this adorable cape-coat she got. It was lovely.

Okay, now for sewing notes. This was, for me, a wearable muslin. Honestly, the waist is fine, the legs are fine, but the rear is a bit tight, and the crotch is as well. So the next time, I will be adjusting those things. But for the most part, this fit works for me and though it’s restricting,I like this fit. I feel so ’40s, and all I want to do is dismiss my cute but tedious fiance and fall in love with that fashionable stranger…

Don’t you?

1 Comment

Filed under Fabric, Sewing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

One response to “The Must You, Darling? Pants

  1. me

    Look at you! Bravo 😀

Leave a Reply

