Sew Grateful Giveaway! Get it while it’s hot!

It’s Sew Grateful Week! First of all, a huge thanks to the lovely and amazing Debi (she truly is amazing) for hosting this! I’m so excited to see what everyone creates and gives away and reflects upon. I will be posting a reflecting post by the deadline of this Thursday, never fear, and I have to say in advance, I’m so grateful to so many people out there for being amazing resources for a new sewer like me. This is an amazing community of people creating marvelous things with their hands, and the support and encouragement and sheer knowledge and advice out floating around in the interweb never fails to amaze me. I wouldn’t be half the sewer I am today without all of these amazing people making things and sharing ideas, so thank you. I’m truly Sew Grateful! Read more about it here.

Now, enough jibber-jabber, on to the giveaway!

Sidenote, did anyone else watch Jabberjaw growing up? It was awesome. It had a shark. Who played the drums. How cool is that?

Yeah. It’s awesome. You know what else is awesome? This giveaway! And what am I giving away,you ask? It’s a trinity, or a triptych, or for those less dorky, it’s three things. Whatever, I like to get fancy with the verbage, sue me. Β Number one is this lovely pattern, Vintage Vogue 8728. This guy has been all over the internets since it’s release last year, and there are some lovely versions out there like this one by Mena or this one by Casey or this one by Erika! So here it is, yours for the taking:

Uncut, unused, and ready to go! And to pair with it, we have three yards of this coral pink silk:

Fun fact, this may or may not come with a dusting of small grey cat hairs. I will do my best to insure this is not so, but just giving you fair warning.

But say the 1940’s isn’t your style. Well, not to worry, because I’m also giving away this groovy pattern, Butterick 6258!

This one has in fact been cut, I believe, but I personally have never used it. And it’s not just a dress, but several whole outfits! What? Yes. You read that correctly.

So to recap, Vintage Vogue 8728, Butterick 6258 (with some CHARMING cover art, one might add) and three yards of silk to make a halter top, a dress, or whatever the hell else you are into! All for the low low price of free! Just leave a comment below letting me know what you would do with any of these items, or really what you are working on right now to make February a little more fun! Or tell me what you’re favorite childhood cartoon was. Obviously I enjoyed Jabberjaw. That’s just a give-in.

70 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

70 responses to “Sew Grateful Giveaway! Get it while it’s hot!

  1. Jabberjaw! I recognize the image but had forgotten the name! Must have been in those early years back when I barely understood english, LOL!

    But one of my favorite cartoons as a kid was japanese: it featured an across-the-tracks romance btw two frogs, Demetane and Renatane. You can see them here:

    I also loved Candy and this european one called The Adventures of Niels Olgerson?

    Love the patterns and the fabric.

  2. Lol I don’t think I ever saw Jabberjaw! My mom didn’t let us watch a lot of tv growing up, though! Woe is meeeee!

    If this was my win, I’d totally make up that Vogue pattern in that luscious silk. And then I’d make my boy take me on a date so I’d actually have an excuse to wear coral silk out and about πŸ™‚ What am I talking about – I’d probably wear that sucker to roll around the house on a weekend too. SILK.

  3. Wow, what a lovely giveaway! I love the vintage Vogue pattern and the silk! My favorite cartoon as a kid was probably Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles– pizza-eating sewer dwellers! What’s not to love?!

  4. I think that silk would go perfectly with the Vogue pattern! My favorite cartoon as a kid was The Smurfs –I might have had a slight crush on Hefty.

  5. Marchelle

    I LOVE Casey’s version of that dress. I’ve put it in my “projects for the future” file, so I would love to win the pattern!

    But for now I’m working on a kitchen dining set that will be a wedding gift. Maybe if I win this will be the dress I wear to the wedding?

  6. Right now I’m working on the Pastille dress of course πŸ™‚ I’d love to win and make something with that beautiful fabric! And in regards to the comment you left on my blog: you are not a kiss-ass! I’m going to follow your blog because you are awesome πŸ™‚

  7. ooo goodness my childhood was spent in front of a tv so it is so hard to pick , but if I had to I would say oddly enough is Thunder Cats. I was just looking at a bunch of sets on Polyvore that had coral in them so I would love the vogue pattern and fabric.

  8. Hazel

    Wow! Beautiful fabric and I love that pattern! I am currently sewing a sleeveless red wool dress with a lacy, neck, collar thing (?!)
    Favorite childhood cartoon was probably Mona the Vampire but more recently I fell in love with this cute stop animation thing called Brambly Hedge – basically little door mice running round and being adorable.
    Hope I win!

  9. Right now I am hemming curtains! Meanwhile, Butterick 6730 in maroon polka dots is sitting, cut out and interfaced, on my sofa, pleading for my attention….

  10. Wowee! I’d love to be the proud owner of any of those wonderful prizes! Great giveaway and fun post! I don’t recognise jabber I’m afraid, but my fave cartoon was hong kong phooey. That might make me a bit older than you. I’m working on two French navy skirts: a vintage 80s high waisted vogue and a pinstriped meringue.

  11. What a great giveaway – thank you! I would love to win the Vintage Vogue 8728, I’ve been coveting that pattern ever since I saw Casey’s lovely make (I hadn’t seen the other two before, so thank you for linking to those). The pattern illustration looks quite posh but when made up the dress looks more casual, in a good way, ie. wearable, so I think I’d make a couple of day dresses that I could wear to the office in Summer. Ooh it’d look great in red! I love red but find you get a lot of funny looks wearing as it’s quite full on, so I’m looking to make up some casual red dresses to wear on a more daily basis.

  12. Oh wow – thank you for such as generous giveaway!!! I’m currently working on drafting a cowl neck top based on a RTW top I own….nearly there, just a few more tweaks!
    Just discovered your lovely blog through Debbi’s link so I’m off to have a good nosey around now!

  13. What an amazing give away! I love love love 8728! I’m making a starry Jasmine at the moment and using organza as an interfacing for the first time, which is fun! I love the learning opportunities with sewing… Cartoon wise I’m with ladybird I’m afraid, seriously restricted TV watching when I was younger, but I love Finding Nemo and Toy Story – does that count?!

  14. Lovely fabric and patterns. I’m about to start sewing a couple of t-shirts; my current ones are getting old and starting to look it.

  15. what a generous giveaway! I love that Vogue pattern, and that coral silk looks delicious! Right now, I’m working on a quilt, because it’s all I can think about when it gets this cold!

  16. Teresa

    I’ve been drooling over the Vogue pattern (btw, Adey also did a lovely version http://www.sewweekly.com/2011/09/the-gather-go-jersey-dress/) and been looking for THE fabric I’d want it in before I somehow get my grubby hands on the pattern itself. I’d however consider using the silk for a (http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/patterns/sewingpatterns.pl?patternid=1598) Vogue 2401

  17. ehhehe He was called Tu Tu barao…. in portuguese !

    Thanks for such fun giveaway

  18. I love the butterick. I would make myself a halter dress to wear with a half sweater. I used to love a cartoon called Samurai Pizza cats. I remember it used to air on a Sunday morning after Sunday school, so I used to run home after the service to watch samurai Pizza cats (what a lame name, now that I think about it)

  19. Thanks for this lovely giveaway. I would not mind either the Vogue pattern or the fabric. I’m not working on anything right now. There’s no energy, but hopefully soon.

  20. How exciting! I love the Vogue pattern, but just haven’t bought it for myself yet.

    Right now I’m almost finished remaking a wool skirt I’ve had for ten years into a 1940s pattern. Lots of fun with piecing and pattern overlapping, and wondering how criminal it would be to cut slightly on the off-grain!
    http://nuranar.livejournal.com/244537.html

    But all it needs now is a hem and some handsewing. It’s great! I can’t wait to wear it.

  21. Right now I’m working on a mid 50s wiggle dress in tropical wool. I’d love to win the vintage Vogue pattern though!

  22. Erin

    I would use the silk to make a dress for me for my a capella gigs. I’m really tired of the boring two I alternate between. A nice coral one would be a great way to switch it up!

  23. Donna

    I love the 40’s pattern and boy, does the 70’s pattern bring back memories! Right now I’m working on a chair organizer for a friend and think I may have to make one for myself, too. Thank you for the giveaway!

  24. I’m working on a skirt this February, but I’d love to try my hand at the vintage Vogue dress!

  25. Thanks for the giveaway ! I would L.O.V.E that Vogue pattern – there are some lovely versions on the old blogosphere. I am thinking the silk would like lovely made up in that pattern ! Thanks again, xx

  26. Oh, wow! What a generous giveaway! I am not usually a pink girl, but I’m really intrigued at the idea of making something out of that lovely fabric. I have some blue crepe that I’d love to use for the Vogue pattern too. Love it!

  27. oooh this vintage dress is just fabulous.. i wish i have that pattern..

  28. Amazing giveaway! I’d love to make up some of those outfits in the pattern for summer wear, I think the dresses would look great in the coral pink.
    My favourite tv programme as a child was either the Shoe People (I think I may have just realised where my grown up shoe obsession may have come from!) or Sharky and George which may both have been just British series but Jabberjaw looks very much the same as Sharky!

  29. Oh, the fabric is so pretty!
    sean-mackenzie{at}live{dot}com
    thevintagedame.blogspot.com

  30. Janet

    Would love the beautiful Vogue pattern : ) It would look amazing in the pink silk!
    My favourite 80’s cartoon was Dogtanian.
    Thanks for your generous giveaway.

  31. I love that 1940s pattern! I’m currently working on a 1930s dress from a vintage pattern but plan to make one from the 1940s next.
    -Emily

  32. sue

    Love the 1940s pattern and that lovely fabric – amazing!
    I’m still working on incorporating ’70 style into my life…

    I’m currently working on Colette Pattern’s Violet blouse, stalling a bit for fear of facing all those buttonholes.

    Thanks for the sweet giveaway!

  33. Love vintage 40s Vogue. I’ve been eyeing this pattern for a while. and pilk silk! yeah! My favourite childhood cartoon was inspector gadget πŸ™‚ that’s how i sometimes feel when sewing anyways πŸ™‚

  34. There are some great version of that Vintage Vogue out there. I might just use that silk fabric to make up a pair of beach pyjamas, how fabulous would that be!

  35. Daisy

    Wow for the 40-ties pattern.
    For now I am struggling with a circle skirt ? !

  36. I personally think that a dusting of grey cat hair makes every sewing project completely as all of mine are dusted with black and white cat hair!!

    I have been eyeing that repro 1940s patttern for some time now and I think that coral silk would be lovely in that pattern!!

  37. Ooh, I love Vogue 8728! I would make a pretty dress to wear in Spring or Summer, and I love the idea of using a knit. That coral silk is gorgeous!

    I am not working on a dress, which needs the side seams basted narrower and darts fixed. While not doing that I’m knitting a hat to replace one I just finished and promptly lost 😦

  38. Tina

    Oooo… So lovely! If I won this I think I’d make a little sexy sheath dress like the one Mad Men Joan wears here: http://maddierose90804.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/mad-men-1.jpg

    To make life a little more interesting these days, I’ve started a sewing blog. It can be found here: retrorabbithole.blogspot.com

  39. I love the patterns! Right now I am working on a handbag for myself. I’ve made them for everyone else, now it’s my turn. Oh and my favorite cartoon was Popeye!

  40. Oooh! Great giveaway! At the moment I’m working on a kimono for my sister in this funky purple and yellow fabric. I’m using Butterick 6698. I’ve almost finished knitting a jumper for a friends new baby too.

    Kids programs – Rugrats, and Prince Valiant (sadly they didn’t make many episodes). Oh, and the Pirates of Dark Water.

    Please put me down for the lovely vintage vogue dress pattern. Its gorgeous. Casey made a great version of it.

  41. How fun that you are participating in the sew grateful week. Hmmm, maybe I need to come up with something. And yes, I think you should totally buy the Jenny skirt pattern. It’s well worth it in my opinion.

  42. Thank you for the giveaway. I love the vogue pattern ever since I saw the Sew Convert’S version. I am currently thinking of making te Colette Parfait Dress

  43. Amy

    With a pattern and fabric already in hand, I’d jump right in and make up the Vintage Vogue in that silk. Fun! I’m currently juggling way too many projects. A pair of jeans. A Minoru jacket. A bombshell dress. Scarves and clutches for friends. A dress, cape, and jacket for my mom. Cases to hold fishing rods for my dad. And, on top of all that, I’m watching the videos from Susan Khalje’s Couture Dress Course on Craftsy. You can always add another project to the list, right?! Oh, and my favorite childhood cartoon was definitely the animated batman series.

  44. Tanya

    Great giveaway! I have been eyeing off the vogue pattern since seeing casey’s version. I am currently working on a blue polka dot dress. My favorite cartoon as a kid was probably astro boy…thanks again.

  45. Kat H

    I’d completely forgotten about Jabberjaw. Not sure if I ever watched it, but that picture brings back some memories, so I guess I did!

    That vintage Vogue pattern is fabulous – I’ve been eyeing it up for a while, wanting to make it in a knit fabric like Adey did.

    I was always a Top Cat fan, myself. He’s the original, after all! πŸ˜‰

  46. Jusi

    Oh, this vintage pattern is so pretty!! And the silk as well, I can totally see it as a Valentine’s Day drss ( maybe next year, it might be a little too late for that now). When I was a kid I loooooved Power Rangers ( anyone? well, not much of a cartoon, but just wanted to remind you how cool it was) and X-men series. Not many pretty dresses there, but I guess supernatural powers were just fine as well.

  47. Karen M

    Lovely giveaway, my favourite cartoon was the Raggy Dolls, the intro music is brill also, has a great message in it πŸ™‚

  48. Karen Lachance

    I am working on the Pastille dress too but would love to make the Vogue pattern in a nice sky blue.

  49. Liz

    i’ve been drooling over that first pattern ever since i saw adey’s version on sew weekly–and then casey’s–and then i wanted it! i would probably try to sew it up in a knit, just like the ladies did first. πŸ™‚ the silk, well, i think i would have to make a colette crepe with that!!!! what a beautiful color. and the last groovy pattern, that long sundress with the open back is calling my name for our short portland summers! and maybe burning man, too. πŸ˜‰

  50. Holly S.

    I am making McCall’s 6118 one-shoulder tunic (View C), lengthened into a knee-length dress, made in a black & cream oversized paisley print of unknown parentage. It’s silky & slippery though.
    Jabberjaw, yes. The Snorkels too. I also recently came across a marathon of Fat Albert cartoons. My kids loved them. And you know what my 4 year old daughter spelled out of foam bath letters shortly after? FAT ALBRT. Not CAT, not BED, nor CAR. I also had to pretend to be Fat Albert for the rest of the night; I do one hell of an impression though.
    Thanks for the giveaway triad πŸ˜‰
    hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com

  51. Alexandrea M

    Oh I have V8728 on my wish list, I love that pattern!
    To make my upcoming spring better, I am working on some floor length cotton housedressy items so I don’t get drafts but don’t get too hot, since last year I didn’t have ANYTHING that was suitable for anything other than freezing or really hot weather!
    Thank you for the giveaway.

  52. Laurie Glover

    Me too! I’ve also been eyeing the vintage Vogue forever. I’d love to make it in a fluttery rayon for a special wedding this summer. I loved Speed Racer reruns.

  53. ~ * β™₯ * ~

    Eek! Love, love, love the vintage Vogue pattern ~ what an amazing giveaway! I am currently diving into my first vintage shirtwaist pattern and I am so keen to get it made up, but I need to do a muslin first…

    My favorite childhood cartoon was “Billy the Cat” ~ I just remember it being super funny because it was about a boy turned into a cat so sometimes he was smarter then the other cats {having his ‘people’ knowledge} and sometimes he was way sillier because he didn’t even know how to meow or anything! Ah, good memories. πŸ˜€ I don’t think I ever saw Jabberjaw though.

    xox,
    bonita of Depict This!

    bonita{at}bdotdepictions.com
    ~ * β™₯ * ~

  54. javede

    I would definately make that vogue dress though maybe not with the silk…I am scared of sewing with silk…

  55. Mmm right now I’m struggling with my fitting of the Colette Patterns Clover pants. I’ve aaaaalmost got it – give me another week and I’ll have finished with my first pair of pants!

    Thanks so much for your lovely giveaway! What amazing patterns, and that fabric is gorgeous!

  56. Claudia

    A big hello from Brazil!!! I love the Vintage Vogue 8728, it is so classic and feminine… I’d love to make it!!! Right now I am making a Colette Lady Grey coat and getting ready to trace a trench coat… and keeping my fingers crossed… and by the way, I like Harvey Birdman… the old and new versions ; ). Thanks so much for the giveaway…

  57. Maria

    thank you so much for the giveaway!
    First, I love the Vogue pattern. Very flattering, and I’m a sucker for feminine 40s dresses. And the little summery halter top dress would be great for someone living in Florida…like me :o)
    I’m currently working on my first pair on blue cords! If the boot-cut style work out well then I want to make some rose-colored skinny cords too!

  58. I’d probably make that vogue pattern into a comfy day dress. And I was a big 90s Nickelodeon kid and I was especially partial to Hey Arnold and Rocko’s Modern Life.

  59. Emily

    The silk would be an Easter dress, for sure. Actually I’ve been wanting to do this look with reversed colors for a while, and I already have a floral green, so I’d be set! http://www.style.com/fashionshows/complete/slideshow/S2009RTW-ODLRENTA?event=show1862&designer=design_house78&trend=&iphoto=42#slide=42

  60. Kristin

    Aw, I love both of those patterns! Haha, though I’m not sure I’d get much use out of the 70s one, but you never know!

    I’m currently working on a scalloped edge circle skirt… though I think I botched the scallops and it will become a sad circle skirt instead. Sad.

  61. My favorite childhood cartoon…I was old for my age, I guess, because I really remember loving the Jetsons, which was TOTALLY NOT CURRENT when I was small!
    That silk is beautiful, and I’ve been wanting to try Vogue 8728 for a while–as you say, there are so many beautiful versions out there!

  62. Oh, the Vogue 8728 – Erin at dressaday.com has made that up in so many beautiful fabrics I’m totally sold! And so many other bloggers too, it seems to suit a wide range of people. I’ve just sewn the hems and cuffs on a Minoru jacket this morning and am currently cleaning my sewing area before I lose small children or animals under the mess. Thanks for hosting a wonderful giveaway – it’s very generous of you.

  63. I love that Vogue pattern and if I were to win it I would definitely make a dress for my friends wedding this Summer. I love every version of that pattern I have seen.

  64. I love that red fabric… although I’m not sure it’s my colour. But if it were, I’d totally make myself a red cocktail dress, even though I’m not sure where I’d wear it. πŸ™‚
    Or, if not, I’d use it to line a bag, or something equally as fun as that.

    I’m finishing a pair of aqua knitted socks now. Still not sure whether they’re mine or my sister’s. Both are possible, because I still have the yarn.

  65. Pingback: Sew I thought you should know… | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  66. I’d love to make Vintage Vogue 8728 in a delicious thin jeweltone silk or wool jersey… my favorite childhood cartoon was The Muppet Babies, and I’m trying to make February more fun by sewing some easy projects in between my over-ambitious ones. Thanks for the giveaway!

  67. Thank you for the giveaway! The silk looks delicious!
    I am currently cutting out the patterns to make a dress (SIM1914). I am using newly thought couture techniques for this dress. My first such dress … maybe my last … ha!
    Took an online class with Susan Khalje on Craftsy and she’s a darn good teacher. So I’m quite inspired.

  68. Hi ! This month I have been working on a Red Wood Jersey Sweetheart neckline top to wear with dress clips, a floral circular skirt from an old pair of curtains, and an attempt at Joan’s dress with Roses from Mad Men.

    I would love to take a run at the 40’s dress – such a feminine shape, could look amazing in a wool challis print – found a couple of those recently in my travels in opshop land.

    The Jetsons always pushed my buttons as a kid! Thank you! Trish

  69. tiara

    favorite cartoon would have to be Doug, just could not get enough, that and x-men.
    lovelovelove the vogue dress. I would use the fabric to make a dress for my roommate for her birthday.
    at this point I am working on crocheted winter accessories for my friends, I don’t need any more as well as a latch hook rug. it is an eeyore one that I have wanted for years and finally found in a thrift store!

  70. Cynthia

    Oh… I have wanted to make that Butterick 6258 pattern for sooooo long.

    I even have the fabric all picked out waiting. ( Hope I win it πŸ™‚

    Fav cartoon was felix the cat as I was cat obcessed.

    Right now, sorting through some old clothing from an estate where the lady sewed alot and going to re-purpose several of her handmade polyester shorts using another old pattern from the 70s.

Leave a Reply

