Sew Grateful Giveaway Winner and Awesome Things You Ought To Know About 2/12/12!

I have no photos for today, so here is Maru. God, I love Maru.

First of all, I would like to thank each and everyone one of you who commented to win my giveaway prizes. Not only did you remind me of a plethora of cartoons that delighted me as a child (Hong Kong Fooie? Was the best. THE BEST.) but your ideas for these items and descriptions of what you are currently working on made my day(s). I really do love to see what other people are doing with this sewing and crafting business, it’s so inspirational and activates my own creativity. So thank you, for letting me shamelessly rip you off. You guys, you make it happen.

Second of all, congratulations to the randomly selected winner, number 26, Mokosha! (I don’t know how to show you the randomizer thing so you will just have to trust me. I promise I really did find a device on the interwebs and enter in the parameters and make it spit out a number, I’m not lying to you! I’m just not good enough at life to figure out how to grab that image and post it here!). Mokosha is a knockout on many levels. She is a phenomenal seamstress. She is whip smart and gorgeous. And she is probably one of the funniest people writing about sewing across whom I have come. She is effortlessly cool (I assume, I really don’t know how much effort she puts into being super awesome), she’s an art historian, an archaeologist, a great photographer, and a generally stand-up human being. All of her posts come in the form of poems, which is just plain delightful, and she wears the hell out of a blazer. So, Mokosha, forgive my gushing, but I have a sewing crush on you, and I am happy to contribute to your crafting adventures.

And honestly, I think I have a sewing crush on every person who commented. You people, you are the best. Thanks for stopping by, and come back again soon, I’ve got more giveaways planned for the future.

And now for the awesome things about which you should know.

1. Okay, this is going to sound absolutely insane, but, um, do you guys know about Ebay? I literally just found out about Ebay. Of course I knew what it was, but I swear, I have never used it before this month. Long story short I really liked the bags from the Jason Wu for Target collection, but of course it sold out within minutes. So I went to the internet for guidance, like you do, and I was like, wow, a plethora of bags exist, out there, online! In fact, the whole collection is available, online, you can buy it, today! Which I just found to be stunning. And then I found out that there is FABRIC on there. And PATTERNS. And NOTIONS, probably, I haven’t actually checked. Now, I’m not really someone who should be purchasing fabric, but, yeah, it’s there, if you need it. How cool is that? Yeah, obviously I’m rather behind the times. Just go with it.

2. The first two seasons of NewsRadio are currently streaming for free on Hulu. Obviously I don’t need to say anything else.

3. I’m sure you’ve seen this, but Casey’s tutorial for Valentine’s day strikes me as a gorgeous way to embellish a sweater.

4. I am not a fan of the Maxi dress. I honestly think it’s a garment that has been designed to make ladies feel negative about themselves, like harem pants, or drop-waist dresses. HOWEVER, two separate but equally delightful people have created/displayed maxi-dresses lately that actually make me say, wow, I want one of those. Would I wear it outside? No. No I would not. But would I swan about my apartment in it, feeling lithe and ten feet tall? Yeah. Yeah, I would. So check out this Maxi dress by Cirque du Bebe, and this Maxi dress by Cation Designs, and tell me you don’t want a piece of that. Yeah. Thought so.

5. Very little has every described how I feel almost all the time as much as this amazing post by Hyperbole and a Half. Read it. It will not make you feel better about yourself, but it will reassure you that everyone else feels the say way you do.

13 Comments

Filed under Giveaway, Inspiration, Sewing

13 responses to “Sew Grateful Giveaway Winner and Awesome Things You Ought To Know About 2/12/12!

  1. Ha, I couldn’t figure out how to display the random.org thing either… I assumed there’d be some HTML code to copy for your blog, but nope. I just took a screen shot and cropped it down. Maybe that’s how others do it!

  2. another thank you, leah.. i’m oh-saw-excited and grateful for winning this incredible prizes.. can’t wait to make something amazing using them.. and thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the lovely words, you are way too kind..

  3. Aww thanks for your kind words about my maxi dress! I know, in my head, that eBay is a fantastic option for buying things, but I’ve purposely not looked into it because I’m scared for my wallet!

  4. You can’t go wrong with a cat picture! 🙂

  5. After reading the post you linked to in point 5, I feel more normal (or less insane)!

  6. i loved that jason wu for target commercial with the black cat so much! i also hate that people out there buy up all the jason wu stuff (or liberty of london stuff) as soon as it is released just to immediately sell it for more on ebay. target needs to impose buying limits! somehow that picture of that maru cat makes it all better.

    • I know, how horrible is that!? There was this dreadful couple in Florida who bought up a whole damn store, I mean, what the hell? Target needs to manage these small designer collections better, the current policy keeps crashing their website and screwing the people who JUST. WANT. A. CAT. SCARF. But yeah. Maru improves everything ever. His face, so enormous, his body, so adorable.

Leave a Reply

