Ba-car-di-Eisenhower

Happy March, everyone!

I’m off today to Puerto Rico for a four-day trip, so I wont be back until Monday evening, but I wanted to leave you with my March crafting plans! Looking ahead, which is what I do, I’m a planner, I can tell that March is, more likely than not, going to be a bitch, schedule wise, so let’s hope I can actually accomplish the list of things I’ve created in my sewing notebook (that charming little covered moleskin featured in my Jump Or Be Pushed Jacket photos)! But at the very least I plan to continue with my Sew Colette challenge (expect a final draft of the Pastille to come, and then it’s on to the Truffle!) and I’m also joining in on the Mad Men Challenge, and I’m using this pattern:

To make a replica of this dress:

I was totally going to go Trudy, guys. I mean, everyone is going Joan, you know? I don’t want to be a follower….But in the spirit of the replica, and in an effort not to buy any new fabric I would rather “shop” my stash and Joan it up. However, in my defense, it’s also reminiscent of this awesome dress worn by Dr. Faye:

Nice, right? Oh, Dr. Faye, you were so awesome. Don, I love you, but you are a stupid stupid man. Megan? Have you seen her TEETH? COME on.

As an added bonus, I may or may not also make this, just for kicks:

Oh! And the lovely Lavender of the delightful Thread Square has gifted me with an award! How lovely is that! This is, in fact, why I think of her as lovely Lavender…(and have you SEEN her Sew Weekly contributions? Girlfriend is on FIRE)

My face is just one giant blush right now. Just one big giant blush.

And now I’m supposed to pass this thing along. So pass it I shall!

According to Lavender:

The Liebster Award is designed to send some love to the online stitching community, and when giving the award, one should stick to blogs with under 200 followers. (Note from Leah: I don’t know how to gauge this, so I’m just going to give it away willy nilly. Just try to stop me.) In other guidelines:

  • You must acknowledge the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
  • Give this award to 5 other bloggers. Please let them know through a comment on their blog.
  • Post this wonderful award on your blog.
  • Bask in the glory bestowed upon you and appreciate all the amazing bloggers out there.
  • Enjoy and spread the good vibes around.

I can totally do all of those things. Thank you, Lavender! So here are my five choices, though I can honestly say that ever blog I read deserves an award! Thank you all for your lovely creations, wonderful stories and awesome advice. Go forth and enjoy your awards!

Cindy of Cation Designs

Misty of Misty Skies Aloft

Natalie of Splatastic

Kelli of True Bias

Leah (awesome name) of A Vintage Thread

Now, I’m off to San Juan, and in my bag I’ve got at least 3 garments to photograph in the hot Caribbean sun. Have a lovely weekend, folks! Anyone up to anything fun? March crafting plans? Upcoming trips? Share is out!

7 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Sewing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

7 responses to “Ba-car-di-Eisenhower

  1. Sue

    I had totally planned on going Trudy (or Betty) but ended up picking a Joan dress partly so I could shop my stash, too! I really LOVE the pink you picked out – can hardly wait to see how it turns out!!

  2. Have a wonderful break. It’s probably because I’m on the wrong side of the Atlantic, but going to Puerto Rico for four days sounds spectacularly decadent and now I want to do it.

  3. Wow, thanks! I’ve never had a blog award before.

    That dress looks like it will be completely awesome! Can’t wait to see the finished creation.

  4. Happy holiday!!! I’m jealous of your Joanie/Mad Men challenge plans! I got nothing. Nothing. When I make my first Joanie dress, and I will, I just want it to be perfect. And I don’t have the right fabric right now. Hehe… I totally have pet names for bloggers 🙂 It’s kinda weird.

Leave a Reply

