The Internets is the Best.

Some things on the internet are horrible. That’s just a fact. For example, I recently found out about large digital communities in which people encourage each other not to eat in order to become emaciated. That is objectively horrible and I hope that stops sometime soon.

BUT, there are also communities of support and help for eating disorders on the internets as well. And there are also lovely people out there who give me blog awards. To which I say, thank you very much, you make up for this website I found of people who thing The Onion is a real news source. COME on, guys, get it together!

On the other hand, that website has allowed me a lot of (disgusted) pleasure, so, you  know, catch 22 there.

Anyway, a really nice blogger named Sue has awarded me the Versatile Blogger award which runs around the internets like a jack rabbit. Which I think is really sweet,  so thank you, Sue, you are a peach. Check out Sue’s blog, she’s just a delight, I can’t wait to see her Joan-inspired olive Green Mad Men Challenge dress. It’s going to be epic.

  1. Add the badge to the winning blog page.
  2. Thank the blogger who gave it.
  3. List the rules.
  4. List seven (7) random facts about yourself.
  5. Pass on the award to fifteen (15) deserving and conscientious bloggers who are nominated for their diligence, demonstrated skill, and achievements in the world of blogging and specifically in the sewing related category.
  6. Contact the nominated bloggers and let them know they are recipients.

Hmmmmm. Seven facts, eh? Sue, you are a crafty devil. But I shall accept this challenge (and this lovely award) with grace, and struggle. Like I do.

Facts about me:

1. I started cooking in restaurants at the age of 15. I worked as a chef in my vacations etc. for five years. And to think, most kids just babysit.

2.  I hate mushrooms. There was an incident in my youth, too traumatic to recount. Trust me.

3. I drink a lot of coffee. A LOT of coffee. Once in college I had six shots of espresso and four cups of coffee in one day (I was directing a show, it was a mess, I was young!) and I’ve never gone there again, but I’ve been close, people. I’ve been close. I really like coffee.

4. Monsoon Wedding is one of my favorite movies. I watch it all the time. I love it. It’s the best.

5. I’ve been to more countries outside of the United States then states within the United States. What can I say, I’m more interested in the Algarve then Alabama.

6. I’m a playwright. I really love Tom Stoppard. I really hate David Mamet. Judge me all you want, I hate Glengarry Glenn Ross. I just do. To tell you why would fill volumes. And I will defend Coasts of Utopia to the death, because while not everything works, but there is real dramatic initiative there! The Decemberists revolution! 9 hours! Billy Crudup! Come on!

7. I have read almost everything Terry Prachett has ever written. What can I say, I’m a fan.

And now to pass this baby onto other people! 15, eh? Goodness. Well, I certainly read more blogs then that, so if you didn’t make this list please don’t be mad at me, I think you are wonderful!

Dixie DIY

Miss P

She’s in Fashion

Trash Planet

Experiments and Accidents

Adventures in Adventuring

Miss Crayola Creepy

Dapper Duds

Cirque du Bebe

What Would Nancy Drew Wear

Oonaballoona

Thinking in Shapes

The Wardrobe, Reimagined

JuliaBobbin

Ginger Makes

Now that I’m thinking about it, I could give this award to many people out there. I love me some internet, sometimes. Afterall, it gives us stuff like this. And this. And also this. The internets. For all it’s bad, there is just so much good.

Thank you very much, Sue, I really appreciate it.

And because I can’t bear not to, enjoy this photo of my parent’s newly rescued cat, Hercule Poirot. (We are all really into the mystery genre, historic and otherwise. Hence our cats being named Hercule Poirot, Brother Cadfael, Endeavor Morse and Marcus Didius Falco.)

We went with Poirot because of the mustache.

Cat photos.  Yet another reason to love the internet.

15 Comments

Filed under Sewing

15 responses to “The Internets is the Best.

  1. Sue

    You’re welcome!! Thanks for having such a great blog.
    Also, I, too, despise mushrooms. 😉

  2. I love mushrooms and orange cats! Especially cats with fabulous lit names. Congrats on a well deserved award!

  3. Crazy, I thought I was the only person under age 50 who liked Hercule Poirot! 🙂 I had a similar traumatic experience with onions and cabbage, so even though I like mushrooms, I think I can relate. Congrats on the award! 🙂

    • Hahaha, so did I! I’m so into Agatha Christie, it’s nuts. Do you like the BBC depictions they make? I do, I love ’em, watch them over and over again. The costumes are divine.

      • Oddly enough, in the books I prefer the Miss Marple character, but in the show, Hercule Poirot wins hands down. The actor that plays him is just perfect, whereas the one for Miss Marple just doesn’t seem to fit quite like I had envisioned her I guess. I’m usually too busy trying to solve the mystery before Poirot (in which I fail hard) to notice the costumes too much.

  4. aww, thanks, lady! i’m super flattered 😉 and thanks for the great list of blogs to check out.

  5. Law

    I love monsson wedding as well. It’s such an awesome film on so many levels

  6. There is no such thing as too much coffee (or too distinguished of a name for a cat…have you read TS Eliot’s poem about the naming of a cat?). In psych class the prof used to say that coffee was the only substance it was safe to be addicted to. Also, antioxidants. Or something. Just tack on one of those words that are supposed to instantly make consumable things okay. Omega 3s! Iron! Coenzymes! Soluble fiber!

    • Hahaha, that’s so true. Coffee is just the best. And I love/hate how people just tack things onto things. “That mean has no nutritional content”. “Not true, it’s rich in iron!” “It’s filled with non-existant vitamins!”

  7. Gosh, thanks so much! I’m blushing! Also– I love your seven facts. It’s super fun to learn more about you, dude!

Leave a Reply

