OWOP 5: The Middle Child (New Finished Project: The Sewing Is Not Exact Science Pants)

We can all agree that I’ve made a bunch of clovers, right? Counting the muslin I made that never saw the light of day, I have made 5 pairs of these pants. It doesn’t match the number of muslins I’ve seen out there (Lauren, I’m talking to you, though the final fit was clearly worth it!) but still, I’ve made these pants. I’ve cut them out, I’ve flat felled their seams, I’ve inserted their invisible zippers. To be fair, I totally follow the instructions every time because I just like reading Sarai’s instructions, but still. I know how to make these pants.

And yet….the pair of clovers I most wanted to make, the pair I probably spent the most time one, well, they are a triffle snug in the, um, crotch. And I could not for the life of me tell you why. They have literally the same measurements as EVERY OTHER PAIR I MADE. I cut them from the SAME PATTERN PIECES. The fabric.com order said they have stretch! And yet….and yet. Maybe they have LESS stretch then the other fabrics in which I made these? I don’t even know. People, I just don’t know.

Still. I do actually like them, and I noticed over the course of the day that as they stretched a bit with wear they actually feel more and more comfortable. So, yeah. I’m going to wear them. Because dammit, this is One Week One Pattern and I made these pants so this is what we are doing. I will make the crotch work with SHEER. FORCE. OF. WILL. Same way I made things fat free just by thinking about them.

But hey, they look cute, right? Let’s go to the photos:

They are also SHORTER then all the other pants. It’s gotta be the fabric, right? I just don’t get it otherwise.

So what did I do today? Well, Brother Cadfael needed his shots. And I am not rich. So I took him to the clinic hours offered by the SPCA, which is way the hell up in North Philadelphia and has open hours on Wednesdays and Saturdays. I figured it would be less crowded on Wednesday, so I packed my meowing friend into a carrier and took him to the clinic. OH. MY. GOD. There were approximately 80 dogs and three other cats (…odd) waiting for their vaccines and microchips as well. Poor Cadfael was a champion, ignoring the mastiffs and pitbulls and not even uttering a whimper when jabbed with the CANON* they use to chip animal. Still, spending the morning in an endless line with my trembling cat was, you know, just the best. Still. At least I looked cute!

More photos? But of course!

You want to see the back? Of course you do. Who wouldn’t?

I did not angle this photo. This is how Dani, my photographer/co-worker, likes to take photos.

It should be noted that I never during this entire photo session released my coffee cup. Because coffee makes me feel like the above photo. And the below photo:

The pants may not fit me just exactly the way I might wish, but hey, they are slim black capris. They’ll do.

Oh, I don’t mean to get all girlie here, but guuuuyyyyys, check out my shoooooeeeeees!

They are little mice. They were made by Marc Jacobs.ย  I bought them at a second-hand shop for 35 dollars. They literally make my heels bleed. But I do not care. (Why don’t I care? Um, did you hear that thing about the MICE?)

So, that’s all my clovers. I’ve already repeated my denim ones. What will I wear next….

*Okay, yes, it was just a very large needle, but I swear, it looked like some sort of weapon.

15 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Colette Patterns, Sewing

15 responses to “OWOP 5: The Middle Child (New Finished Project: The Sewing Is Not Exact Science Pants)

  1. Sue

    These clovers are so adorable on you! I think the ever so slightly shorter length is actually awesome…and rather Audrey Hepburn, but maybe that’s just my pedestrian opinion. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. All of your Clovers have been very cute! I have yet to make a successful muslin ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I love the mouse shoes. Next time you wear them, put strips of plastic bandage tape (google transpore tape) across your heels (like you would band aids) and you won’t bleed or get a blister. I learned this trick when I was a pediatric resident and on my feet twelve hours a day in dress shoes on the hospital wards. Works waaaay better then band aids!

    Would love to have you visit my blog if you get a chance ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh these are so hot Leah! My fav of your clovers so far, and I really like the ‘new’ length.

  4. I’m loving your Clover variations – and your sweet photos too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. you’ve convinced me that i need to make these trousers! (and follow your blog). ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Every girl needs slim black pants. And this girl needs your shoes.

  7. Aww, this outfit is super cute! I don’t even wanna talk about the shoes.

  8. Hahaha nice! I like the angled shot. It looks like you’re back in the 50s surfing the entire pavement XD.

  9. Poor Brother Cadfael! I am always super nervous when I take Walnut out in his carrier because he hates it, and just wails up a storm and then I feel like everyone is looking at me like, “who is that cat abuser lady?” Sounds like your cat is more of a champ than mine!

    As are your Clovers. Because crotch issues or not, they exist, and mine are as yet only wearable in my brain.

    Also, love the mice shoes. I am a sucker for any wearable item with animals on it. Your mice shoes need to meet my kitty flats.

  10. Pingback: Me Made May 7 through 10 (playing catch up) | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

