Cha-cha-cha-changes and a giveaway!

I have big news, people, big news! Brother Cadfael had been accepted to the NYU-Tisch MFA for Dramatic Writing program! Of course, as his human servant, I will be required to attend all the classes and write all the plays and screenplays and generally just be enrolled in the program while he dozes and licks himself. But it’s really his wonderful accomplishment, and he is to be congratulated!

Waiting for Godot is so mainstream, says Cadfael. Endgame is Beckett's real masterwork.

I’m just messing with you. Cadfael didn’t get into Tisch, he didn’t even apply, he thinks graduate students are the worst. I, however, did apply to and was accepted by this amazing school, and I will be attending NYU-Tisch in the fall. Yeah. That’s right. So I’m moving to New York. And yes, I’m taking Cadfael with me, he can lick himself just as easily in Brooklyn or Queens as he can in Philadelphia. We are very excited about this. Well, I’m very excited about this. Cadfael doesn’t understand the concept of plays, or writing, or moving, or New York. Or excitement, really….

At any rate, for now, I’m still here at home in my beloved Philadelphia, starting to make my plans and let the people around me know what’s happening, but I thought that I would share this piece of good news with the world of sewing bloggers, like you do. And to tie this all together, because purely personal posts are not my bag, I’m offering a giveaway! Of 13 vintage patterns! From me to you! Yeah. That’s right. Now you’re listening…..

Let’s take a look at the goods, shall we?

You know, your classic cape/skirt combo. Don’t worry, the embroidery transfer comes with it. Thank goodness.

This I could actually see as looking super modern in the right fabric.

A wrap skirt!

You could, of course, make this in black and white herringbone wool. As suggested.

I guess you could make NON-matching separates, but that just seems like crazy talk.

Pleated skirts are big for spring, apparently.

That cover art model has clearly been infiltrated by aliens. Not to worry, it’s still a cute pattern, right?

I would not recommend the jacket, but the dress is cute!

Vest, check. Miserable looking dog? Check. Cute skirt pattern? Check!

I really want their shoes…

Diversity in cover art models. Thank you, 1970’s!

Julia’s Mad Men Copy Cat Challenge is over, of course, but you can still dress like Megan. Don Draper on your arm optional, but recommended.

And for the final pattern, I must say, I know it’s not a winner, but I’m Jewish, you see, and I just don’t see a need for this in my life:

Yeah. Drink that in.

And you can have all of these pattern (ALL OF THESE PATTERNS!) for the low low cost of free! Just comment before the 15th of April, and tell me which you like best, or what you would do with them, or really if anything exciting has happened in your life recently! All sharing is welcome.

Oh, and I realize that there are 13 patterns I’m giving away to one lucky person, so I’m willing to throw in a 14th to avoid bad luck. Because I’m just that nice.

Happy Passover! Happy Easter! Happy Springtime! Whatever you’re into, have a happy one.

36 Comments

Filed under Butterick Patterns, Giveaway, McCalls Patterns, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

36 responses to “Cha-cha-cha-changes and a giveaway!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS MASTER KITTEH! how nice of you to share the honor with your human.

    if you must know, my favorite is 2602, because i am certain it comes with simple instructions for making fabric levitate around one’s body. but if i won, i’d demand you present them to me in person at your shiny new grad school. YEAH BABAAAAY!

  2. Congrats on getting in to grad school! Now you will have instant access to all those fabric stores!! I’m so jealous. Well, except for the freezing cold winter part of it πŸ™‚

    I would say the pleated skirt pattern is my fave today. Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Kat H

    Oooh, congrats! Looking forward to hearing all about your New York adventures. πŸ™‚

    Simplicity 2792 would be my favourite – that neckline is super cute and looks like it would be a lot of fun to make up with contrasting facing. (The cape in the top pattern is also adorable. Only, how on earth did you end up with that bottom patterned vest pattern?!?!?)

  4. beatalaurenson

    I love Simplicity 2602… wonder what it would look like in real life though?

  5. beatalaurenson

    I love Simplicity 2602…. wonder what it would look like in real life though?

  6. Congrats on the grad school news! Thank you so much for the skirt giveaway. You can e-mail me at cynbular AT gmail DOT com. And, yes, that’s a Clueless reference.

  7. Congratulations! Big, exciting changes ahead for you. Please count me in for the giveaway. I’ve seen Simplicity 2792 elsewhere and admired the cute contrast neckline and sleeves.

  8. Congratulations! I hope your move goes easily and the kitteh doesn’t object too much to being transplanted to New York!

    Please count me in for the giveaway! I really like Simplicity 8447, I think it would make an excellent lightweight summer shirt

  9. Marchelle

    That’s so EXCITING! Congratulations! And what a great city to be in for both fashion/sewing and theatre! And, for Cadfael, I’m a Brecht fan myself.

    I love that pleated skirt pattern for work, and I even love the christmas vest. I don’t know what I would do with it, but I think I could make it work. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the giveaway!

  10. Congrats! I hope the Cadfael does well- I know you would!
    I can’t decide what distrurbs more- the vest or what the jeans are doing…

  11. what a news! congrats, that sounds just fabulous.. take me with you, hehe..
    i’m with oona, in love with simplicity 2602..
    that christmas vest almost killed me, i just laughed like mad when i saw it..
    what are the odds that i won your giveaway twice? i don’t give a damn, i’ll give it a try anyways πŸ™‚

  12. Congratulations! What amazing news!

    Ah, the wrap skirt. You have no idea how many of these I wore back in the ’70s. Some of them I made myself, but then when I was in college (early ’80s) I found lots of the border-printed ones from India at the thrift store. Good times . . .

    Nowadays I’m leaning toward the June Cleaver look, as in Simplicity 2792.

  13. Mazel tov!!! I’m so excited for you! Ms. 2602 really does look like her skin will peel back to reveal a lizard, doesn’t she? Mrs. Claus is even more frightening. Did her jeans eat a reindeer? Don’t enter my comment, though, k? Because if I have any more patterns, my skin might peel back, too.

  14. Amy Grace Clark

    Congratulations – what an exciting move for you! I think that Simplicity 2602 is the pattern I’m most drawn to but I’m intrigued by the claim of only 4 main pattern pieces from Butterick 4173 – I guess the important part of that would be the sneaky inclusion of the word “main” sort of the equivalent of fine print….

  15. Sue

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! How exciting – moving to New York, starting a master’s program, pursuing your DREAMS!! I love it.
    I also love this a-mazing pattern giveaway (especially Butterick 4173 – pure adorable).

  16. I’m not commenting to enter the giveaway – lord knows I have enough patterns lol. I just wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS! Big news is awesome news :DDD

  17. Allison

    I NEED Simplicity 2602 – I need a dress for my cousin’s wedding, and it has to be good. My cousin is 6 weeks younger than me, so everyone will be asking when I’ll be next, AND my ex may be their videographer.

    And congrats on grad school! I went to college in NYC, and it’s the most amazing place to be a student. You can go to the NYC Ballet sooo cheaply with a student ID.

  18. misscrayolacreepy

    1. Congrats!!!
    2. “human servant” hahhahhah! I’m totally stealing that phrase!
    3. Simplicity 2792. πŸ™‚

  19. Congratulations! All of my extended family is in new York and I absolutely love my yearly trip up there, such an amazing city and hello fashion district! You are so generous to give your patterns away, while I have jingle bells and pom poms dancing in my head for mccalls 5177, I’m really adoring your butterick 4282, That has a bold print written all over it. Best of luck to you in your school endeavors!

  20. CONGRATULATIONS LADY!!!!
    I would make Butterick 4173 and swan around my ghetto apartment in a capelet, drinking boxed wine out of (secondhand) crystal.
    PS This is my first comment but I read through ALL YOUR ENTRIES and I have to say that you seem like the epitome of fabulous.

  21. Congrats congrats!! That’s great news! Man Friend is a Tisch grad and loved every minute of it, so I’m sure you’ll have a great time, too! Oh and we’ll just HAVE to get together in NY– no two ways about it!

    Oh– don’t enter me in the giveaway– as fab as these patterns are, I’m finally coming to terms with the horror that is my sewing stash and I’m reallllllllly trying to stash down now. 😦

  22. Mary

    Lovely Leah, Can’t wait to see you in NYC! Congratulations! Have you notified the Police Commissioner here yet? Because I think we need to clear some space in the city to make room for your enthusiasm and personality. Maybe a couple of dozen oldsters could retire to the country to make some space. Seriously–can’t wait to see you. But not on my sofa, okay?

    And, I have to say that I do not want any of those patterns. I feel that I actually may have sewn the cape/skirt combo back in the day. In a tasteful fabric, of course.

    xoxMary (Rebecca’s Mom)

  23. twilltapetiffany

    Congrats! Just found your blog via the mysterious interconnectedness of the interwebs and added it to my reader quick as a wink. Thanks for the laughs and inspiration!

  24. Super congrats! I’m so excited that you will have this new chapter in your life as Ser Cadfael’s representative to humankind! πŸ™‚ I think I prefer the Simplicity 2792 pattern. I can’t use it immediately, but it’d be a lovely addition when I get to reclaim my body-shape post baby. πŸ™‚ (And what a haul! Thanks for such an impressive giveaway!)

  25. Amy

    Wow, what a generous giveaway! I love the Simplicity pattern with the alien models and detachable overskirt.

    Congrats on your acceptance to NYU!!

  26. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! grad school (especially NYU) is such an awesome thing to do!!

  27. Congratulations on Grad school! And taking the kitty with you πŸ™‚ I’m sure you’ll both love NY.
    Ooh, I’ve been lusting after Simplicity 2602 for a while. Love the simple lines and v back. B4282 would make a fun and easy sundress, just in time for warm weather!

  28. bunny

    wow, there’s a bunch here that i like, but that last holiday vest pattern is AWESOME! no. no it’s not. i love that you’re throwing it in though : )

  29. brittany

    Oh lawd! So many beautiful vintage patterns! I think Simplicity 2602, B4282 and 4173 are the most incredible, but the vest would work well when I need to go to a costume party entitled “dress like a second grade teacher”. So yeah, all of them are pretty much good as gold.

  30. Victoria C

    I love the Simplicity 2792 – being bottom heavy, I like the long dress that covers a multitude of “lumps and bumps”.
    Btw, congrats on your new chapter in your life.

  31. Amanda Marinelli

    Simplicity 2792 is adorable! Love the pockets.

  32. Walnut sends his congratulations to Brother Cadfael for successfully conning a human into earning his degree for him. Should BC have questions, W is experienced in this, having forced my husband into earning an MBA for him. I’m going to join everyone in saying that I adore Simplicity 2792. Have so much fun tearing up New York! They are not prepared for you!!

  33. Josephine

    I have a mild addiction to vintage wrap around skirt patterns, so I would have to say Butterick 3290 makes my heart beat faster. Please count me in for the giveaway as you will be aiding my (healthy?) addiction.

  34. Carrie B

    Congratulations! I love 2792 and 2602- and the holiday vest pattern would make a great white elephant gift for this year’s Christmas party πŸ™‚

  35. njeri

    I’m in a skirt sewing mode of late so I would love any skirt pattern, however, I must agree with you that last one is ahem- interesting?

Leave a Reply

