Spring/Summer 2012 Palette Challenge (And I’ll throw a Me-Made-May in for free!)

Ah, Spring, you are (sort of) here. Well, I’m wearing a sweater right now, and it wont get higher than 57 today, but hey, in THEORY Spring has sprung and it’s time for some planning! And you know how I love to plan…

But first, I should tell you that I’m participating in Zoe’s 2012 Me Made May Challenge! I had a lovely time doing it last year, and Zoe has encouraged repeat offenders to up their game, as it were, so here is my pledge:

I, Leah of strugglesewsastraightseam.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’12. I endeavour to wear at least one if not two self stitched items and one vintage item(including accessories) each day for the duration of May 2012.

Boom. How is that for a challenge?

And additionally, I’m going to be participating in Colette Patterns’ lovely Spring/Summer 2012 Challenge! I love that Sarai has opened it up to both seasons, because now I can merge the seasons and think further ahead into making pieces that transition well! Yay! I’m so down for this.

So here is my palette, as generated by Color Lovers:

So as you can see, we are going Nautical this year.

Can we talk about the fact that every damn year magazines do the same damn thing? Wool and plaid for Fall! Stripes are back for Spring! What the HELL? When did stripes ever leave? At what point were we going to oust sweaters in the Fall? “Bright colors for Spring”. Florals are BACK! REALLY? HOW UNUSUAL. In no way does that corresponding with nature and precedent. It just makes SENSE to wear brights and floral things in the spring and summer and darker tones in the winter. THAT’S OKAY. We don’t have to pretend is a damn revelation every damn season! AM I RIGHT?

Okay, moment of rage over. Back to the planning session.

I’m planning on shopping my stash for this challenge, because god knows I have more than enough fabric to do so.  The one exception might be a dress for Jenny’s wedding. I mean, I MADE one already, but I’m kind of on the fence about it, so…..

Anyway, here is what I’ve got in mind so far. One pair of shorts, four blouses, two dresses and one skirt. I’m really more in the Spring place then the Summer place with this challenge (at least, in this color palette) but hey, that’s okay, right? I do have some summery projects planned, but color-wise they are sort of more wild-cardy so I will save those for June. Let’s look at the combinations, shall we?

1. A Blouse

I’ve been wanting to  make a Jasmine top ever since the pattern came out last Fall. In fact, it was even included in my Fall Palette Challenge goals, but it never came to pass (hangs head in shame). I love the idea of making a Sailor Style one, and of course Mena and MTL had to go and steal my idea…seriously, though I love this combination. I’ve actually already cut this out of navy and white cotton shirting, and I’m just hanging the bias portions and getting ready to sew this thing into existence.

2. A Shirtdress

I already own this pattern, it’s Butterick 2626. I’ve wanted a 1960’s style shirtdress for a while, so let’s see how it goes with this fabric:

which I also already own.

3. Another blouse.

Simplicity 4608, version A (short sleeves) sans pocket. Using this vintage blue and white shirting:

I used that for my truffle muslin (PS I need to have WORDS about the Truffle, more on that later) and for the lining for my jacket. This shirting has really gone a long way.

4. A Skirt:

This is an ebay pattern score (from a lot of 40, guys, I really can’t buy any more patterns…), Simplicity 5196:

Horrible cover outfits aside, it’s actually a simple and sweet bias-cut skirt that I’m doing up in a grey linen/cotton blend. No photo of that, sorry!

5. Another blouse (or two, or three…):I want to make a New Look 6808 (or two). Am I alone in thinking that everyone and their mother has made this blouse? And tips?

With these fabrics:

and

And I want to  make this DARLING vintage McCalls 3305:

In this:

6. A pair of shorts, Simplicity 2017. I’ve made these before, and I love them.

This time it’s navy linen all the way:

(All of the swatches from from my sewing book, which I made after being inspired by Sarai of Colette Patterns and it’s proved to be a really helpful tool, especially when thread or zipper shopping.)

7. And finally, another dress, AKA Colette Patterns Lily AKA my new best friend. (I totally bought this as soon as it released even though I don’t need any more patterns and don’t really need to spend money. I am weak in the face of adorable patterns. WEAK.)

I’m not sure what fabric I will use to make this one. How about a bright red linen with white linen accents? Or is that too va-va-voom? I’m just throwing it out there. If you want it, take it. If not, send it on back. (Guess the movie quote!)

So those are my plans for Spring. I actually enjoy these planning posts, both reading other people’s and making my own, but if you don’t, well, feel free to ignore all these ramblings. However, if you DO, what are you working on? Any spring challenges or ideas? What do you want to make as the weather gets warmer?

13 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing, Inspiration, Planning

13 responses to “Spring/Summer 2012 Palette Challenge (And I’ll throw a Me-Made-May in for free!)

  1. That vintage McCall’s blouse pattern makes me feel mighty covetous!

  2. Reading this makes me wish I was a planner – maybe I could be?! There’s a thought… Great plans and realistic. I’ve just made a couple of new look (sailor version) which are yet to be photographed. It’s dead easy, quick and my new favourite style.

  3. Eek! These are all amazing! That shirt dress is going to be KILLER. Oh, and the shorts are to die for! Plus the Jasmine is too cute– that’s going to be adorable in navy and white. I was thinking about doing the Lily in red with white accents, but since I’m already making the Iris shorts in red and white, maybe that’s overkill for me (AND I’m still forcing myself to not. buy. the. Lily.). I say go for it! Question though– I’m super paranoid about using red and white together and having bleeding issues… do you know any ways to avoid that? Is prewashing the fabric enough to keep that from happening?

    • Thank you for being so supportive of my plans! I’m excited myself, now that I look at all of them in a row. I think maybe if you pre-wash the red with some white vinegar that might help, at least, that’s my plan, but just pre-washing the hell out of it is ALSO my plan.

  4. Kat H

    Cute plans! I love that vintage McCalls blouse – so adorable! Looking forward to seeing what you make with all of these. 🙂

  5. Ha, I liked your rant about the fashion industry’s “revolutionary” ideas on seasonal fashion. I saw this Devil Wears Prada clip on Erika B’s blog recently, and your post reminded me of it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=l8h2qnRBzR0

  6. Seriously, what is up with the “SURPRISE!!! Fall is all about plaids!” every year?? I, too, am excited to see your shirtdress. I thought about signing up for MMM, but I’ll confess that I’m scared to commit because then I’m going to feel…you know, committed. Which is a lot of pressure. Same goes with writing up a sewing plan. I need to just get over myself, don’t I?

    • RIGHT? REVELATION, people. Grey for winter? Whaaaaaaa? Coral in summer? COME on now. I’m excited to make a shirt dress, I’ve been wanting to do one for a while. I like committing to things! But hey, I’m a planner, everyone is different.

Leave a Reply

