Pajama Party, Baby!

So, Karen, who I would seriously like to be my new best friend (Seriously, Karen, please be my friend, we like the same books, we drink the same drinks, I think you’re really amazing, call me. Text me. Send up a smoke signal. I’ll be waiting. Also, sidebar, can we talk about how many people on the internet I want to be my new friends? All of you who read this, that’s just number one. It’s kind of embarrassing. It’s awkward. Don’t worry about it. Ignore all this. Moving on.) has organized a pajama making party! (Yeah. Bet you lost the thread of THAT sentence. Try to keep up, okay?) And while I did not announce it here on this blog, I did in fact sign up to participate. And I made some pajamas.

I love pajamas. But I’m single (in case you couldn’t tell by all the singleness happening up in here), and it is hard to get photos taken of ANYTHING, let alone my pajamas. So you must forgive the mirror shots. If you have any objections, feel free to send me the number of a smart handsome funny gentleman with excellent photography skills. Yeah. I’ll just wait for those to pour in. In the meantime, check out my PAJAMAS!

Yeah, I went a little overboard and made a set. The pants are Simplicity 4971:

That one chick has a BOW on top of her head. View 3. Check it out. Yeah. Drink that in.

Still, the pants are great! They are rather huge, but that’s how I likes my pajama bottoms.

And the top is a Sorbetto. What WOULD we do without that pattern? I made an inverted pleat this time. Mixing it up.

The material is a sheet I got for 2 dollars from Circle Thrift. I still have another full flat sheet. Score. I’m thinking a dress. Thoughts?

I added a bow on the front, which I think is useful because it’s the ONLY way I can tell front from back on these things. I made a pair for my mother as well, same pattern, different fabric, bow included.

Oh! And I used a decorative stitch on the hem! I’ve got all these fancy stitches on my machine and I NEVER use them, but I realized that pajama pants are the perfect opportunity to use decorative stitches! How fun is that?

Yeah. He’s great, this guy, but his photos are just the worst. It’s the lack of artistic vision. Or opposible thumbs. Who can say, really.

Cadfael says “My pajamas are just like my regular clothing are just like my naked self”. That’s just one of the many reasons this guy is an adorable fluffy jerk.

 

44 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing, Colette Patterns, Sewing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

44 responses to “Pajama Party, Baby!

  1. Hello, new best friend! Your pyjamas are lovely – I love those big flowers. Isn’t the Sorbetto just perfect for a top? My blogging life was transformed when my sister gave me one of her old camera tripods. I don’t rely on my boyfriend to take photos any more – he always got far too grumpy. I think you can pick them up pretty cheap on Amazon, and I just attach a very standard point and shoot.

    • I so need a tripod. I always get furious with my photographers because, and I quote “You aren’t making me look pretty/thin enough!” And yet this mirror business clearly is a mess. Thank you for commenting, oh great pajama leader! I love this challenge, I love making pajamas!

  2. Oh I like these alot! Why did I not do pants, aargh! By the way, I love your writing style- I tune in for your jazzy clothes and your fun thoughts. I’m throwing a pillow at you across the internet

    • Oh, thank you, new internet friend! (I love your style too, and your dogs are amazing). I really appreciate that, as I’m a writer, primarily, who sews, so I’m thrilled when people like the writing!

  3. Hehe – Thanks for making me giggle with your post! Love the new floral pyjamas… and the gratuitous cat shots! πŸ™‚

  4. I love the material that you have used, great pjs!

  5. Just because you have a man in your life does not guarantee any level of skill with a camera. Even when his father was a professional photographer. Really. The Husband is hopeless with cameras. I don’t allow him to touch mine. Not even to move it. I am serious.

    Your PJ’s are so cute, the Sorbetto is awesome as a top to sleep in, or lengthened as a nightie?

    • Oh, that would be a great idea! Next time…. I’m sorry your husband didn’t get that quality, what a waste, oh well…

    • Kat H

      Oh heck yes, I can totally second that. My one even likes taking photos. Just not of people. And especially not of my sewing creations. *sigh* We have regular disaster photo shoots as a result.

      (If only cats could take photos – I bet they’d be awesome at it. Although likely perfectionists as well. Hmmmm….)

  6. Those are great pyjamas, the decorative stitching is such a nice touch too.

  7. Cool! Good on you for using the embroidery stitches. The cat looks hilarious. Do you brush his fur? It looks so fluffy…

  8. So many lovely pyjamas tonight – these are gorgeous! I favour the roomy myself, and this fabric is to die for! I don’t know why all these gorgeous sheets insist on hiding from me when I go into thrift shops – maybe you only find them in the US?!

    • Well to be fair, I don’t score like this every time. It’s rare, in fact. Most of the time I’m wandering around thrift stores wondering “where is all the cute fabric the UK sewers find”?

  9. Lovely pjs! Love the floral print,

  10. I’m a newcomer here (thank you, Karen!) but just had to say that I love that fabric. I think a dress would be an excellent idea, so summery and fresh and yet a bit different.

  11. My dad was hugely into taking photos of my mom in her me-made outfits, so I grew up thinking all husbands were like that. I was sadly disappointed when my husband showed not the slightest hint of wanting to take photos of me…

    I think you need to make a dress from that fabric, and then do a Me-Made 24 Hours where you only wear things made from that cloth.

    • Oh, but see, interest or not, he’s there and he DOES it, that’s the important thing!

      That is just the best idea I’ve ever heard. I’m on it. I think I could even squeeze a little vest for Brother Cadfael out of the scraps, so, yeah, that’s happening, let’s be real.

  12. I love your PJs and am now convinced that I need to make a top too. A Sorbetto, how perfect!

  13. Pingback: Pyjama Party – I’m ready to Join the fun | sewmuchchoice

  14. I love your PJs, the fabric is amazing and works so well. I feel I now need to make a top too to finish off the relaxed PJ look.

  15. You did a great job on your pjs, and I also like my pyjama pants wide, that makes them so comfortable! I, too, make my photos with a tripod, my husband is not useful for taking photos of me. Let me also tell you that I like your blog, I dropped in by the link at burdastyle.com and I love your writing style!

  16. I love your fabric, such a sucker for roses. But truly, thank you for starting my day with laughter, you’re hilarious!

  17. You’re cracking me up! Although, I am a wee bit disappointed that you didn’t choose to make a matching bow to wear to bed with your awesome new pj’s. πŸ˜‰

  18. Your PJs are fabulous! Thrifted sheets, especially pure cotton, make the best pyjamas. I just love those big blousy flowers.

  19. Baaahhh! I love these! Those roses are killer! All the cool kids have matching PJ sets!

  20. Very nice I love the large floral pattern. x

  21. Pingback: The Feliz Cumplieanos Dress! | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

