Me Made May Day 2: So it’s spring, right?

I’m not all that into talking about the weather. It’s just not a passion of mine. Don’t get me wrong, I care about the weather, I obsessively check weather.com and monitor every cold front and hot spell so that I’m prepared for every eventuality. What can I say, I like to know what’s going on and how to layer appropriately. I just don’t feel the need to discuss it all the damn time. Still, today was cold. And rainy. Do you know how annoying it is to bike in the rain? I do. Oh, I do….

Still, I try not to let the weather I constantly check completely alter what I wear. So for Me Made May Day 2, I went with a skirt. Wool in May. What are you going to do about it?

The blouse is the thing I made, it’s my “I don’t believe in UFOs blouse”. It’s grown on me, honestly, though I haven’t worn it all that often. The skirt is vintage, it belonged to my grandmother, I think, my mom and I aren’t sure if it was Isolda’s or my mothers. Ah, well. People always ask me if I made it. I did not.

And the other vintage thing? This brooch:

It came from the hoarder stash. How lovely is this brooch? Very 1960’s. I adore it.

And there you have it. A rather dreary day two. No scraps today, just rain and red blouses. I’m off to San Juan tomorrow. so expect a gap between postings, and then a flurry of new projects. How is Me Made May going for YOU all so far?

9 Comments

Filed under Butterick Patterns, Challenge, Vintage

9 responses to “Me Made May Day 2: So it’s spring, right?

  1. Eep! You’re leaving so soon?! Have a great trip!!!!! I’m really enjoying MMM… but I’m already out of “normal me” clothes to wear (uhh… turns out I only have like two tops that I would normally wear for weekday type stuff… massive oversight, I suppose!). Good to know, right? I have no idea how the rest of the month is going to go!

  2. I love that brooch! I have a similar-looking one in silver, but I much prefer the gold. Also, when I looked at your outfit, I assumed that you had made the skirt and the blouse was vintage. So much admiration for you, that you make pants and jackets and real buttony blouses! *looks embarrassed at the closetful of impractical dresses*

    • OH, man, I always think blouses are going to be easy and then I get a few hours in and think, this was straight up foolish. This was completely and utterly foolish. Why do I keep making things with BUTTONS? No one knows.

  3. misscrayolacreepy

    What an awesome treasure from that hoarder stash! All the hoarders I know just have junk haha.

  4. Great blouse! A good color for a ‘wishing it were warmer’ kinda day.

  5. Just found your blog….love it! I love yOur vintage spin on MMM.

Leave a Reply

