A Peppermint Pastille (MMM 5 Continued)

I don’t know if I would call the color of this dress mint, really, but an Icy Aqua Pastille doesn’t have that alliteration I so crave, so there we are, everyone okay with that? No? Well, suck it up, we’ve got a lot to cover, here, and I don’t have time for your tomfoolery. Now, you remember my pastille muslin, don’t you? I mean, I only showed it to the world a mere three months ago, how dare you not remember it like it was yesterday? Well, never mind that, it was a trifle snug in the bust, so I did a full bust adjustment and made it up in a stretch poplin. Let’s talk about woven fabrics with a touch of stretch, shall we? They are delightful. They will solve any number of fitting issues with ease (heh) and grace. They don’t strain, they don’t constrain, they curve around you and they do what they are told. In short, I loves em. And I must be so immodest to say that I think they love me.

I wore this to my cousin’s wedding on Saturday, at a church out in nowheresville, Cerdo Gordo, Puerto Rico. The wedding was lovely and adorable and perfectly suited to the bride and groom. Of course it started a full hour late. Like everything does in la Isla Del Encanto. So I had time to force my brother to take some shots of this here dress.

This time I didn’t bother with facings. I have very negative feelings about facings. So I lined the bodice and left the skirt unlined. The wrinkles in the skirt rather obscure the pleats, I’m sorry to sa, and if I could afford it, I would travel with a team of people waiting to iron me at all times. That would be just splendid.

I was probably one of the only people, other than my mother, who didn’t wear a set of three-inch or higher heels. I don’t really wear hells. Why? Because they make me fall down.

The back, she is rather wrinkled. Swayback adjustment in the future? I suppose I must do what I must.

Still, I’m pretty into this dress. I think the fit is nice, though of course sheaths aren’t particularly flattering to any stomach of any kind, and mine is no exception. Still, I like it, and wrinkles aside I think it’s adorable and I’m sure I will wear it to other Spring and Summer events.

The church was surrounded by palm trees, as most places are in Puerto Rico. But what was astonishing were the gorgeous orchids grafted onto the trunks of the trees. magnificent!

Amazing, aren’t they? I’ve never been able to grow orchids. They just stick them on a tree and call it a day.

By the way, the vintage item is the headband, which is really a scarf, from my grandmother, which looks something like this:

It’s a souvenir scarf! I love souvenir scarves. Adore them, in fact.

One final shot amongst the orchids.

So there it is, FINALLY, my Pastille dress. Only one more to go and I will have fulfilled the obligations of Sew Colette and sewed my way through the Colette Patterns Handbook!

7 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing, Colette Patterns, Sewing, Tutorial

7 responses to “A Peppermint Pastille (MMM 5 Continued)

  1. Pretty color on you and flattering shape!

  2. Love this! It’s absolutely gorgeous! Great color for you, too!

  3. That color reminds of those pastel-colored pillow mints (the kind that look like little pillows, not the kind that get put on your pillow in fancy hotels), so I say that name is totally acceptable. I really like the neckline and sleeves, but I agree that the back needs a swayback adjustment…it looks like there is too much fabric back there. Also, that scarf is AWESOME.

    • Oh, the kind that come in bowls and people say don’t eat them because no one washes their hands? Yes, I think that’s true!

      I love the neckline etc as well, and it does need a back adjustment, but lord knows I’m not doing one on this version, I’m done here. But maybe someday on some future dress…

  4. Great dress!!! And for the orchids it’s really no biggie! I live in Denmark, in the centre of cold Scandinavia and lots of people here have them indoors. I have around 10 and I just follow a few simple “rules” and ignore all the rest, and my orchids are beautiful! They even grow new flowers in the winter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

