Me Made May 11, 12 and 13 (skirting the issue)

After a long stretch of pants, the skirts are back!

In my mind, my closet is totally the site of gang warfare. When I close the door the pants and the skirts throw down against each other. They don’t really fight, though, they dance fight. The pants are the Jets and the Skirts are the Sharks and the blouses are like the Cowboys and the dresses are like the Farmers (that’s Oklahoma!, for those who got the obvious West Side Story thing but aren’t as into Rodgers and Hammerstein. Amateurs.)

ANYway, without further whimsical ado, my Me Made May outfits over the weekend:

Day 10!

The blouse is my Fecund by Thrifty Blouse, and I still get more compliments on this then almost anything else I’ve made. The skirt is my Nautical Bias skirt. Man, I have to make more of these, it’s simple and comfortable and goes with everything. And the earrings, which you can barely see, are vintage.  On this day I worked and then met my parents at synogogue and it was randomly a service honoring grandparents and grandchildren which was adorable, if odd to be attending. Then we went out to dinner, and you can see my leftovers in my hand and the glow of wine on my face. I loves wine.

Day 11!

Heh. The skirt is my My Lips Your Lips Tulips Skirt, which looks a little crazyface in this photo, but in real life is actually cute. The shirt is my Blank Canvas Top with the modified neckline. The guy wearing nothing I made is my friend Aubie. I went out to Malvern (and when I say out I mean OUT, it’s very far away) to see Aubie and my friend Emilie (who was also the photographer!) in a production of A Wrinkle In Time. I can honestly say I never really liked the book as a kid, but I did like the play, so maybe the character of Meg Murry gets more tolerable with age.

Day 12!

And for Mother’s Day I dressed up in my Too Hot for Tzaft skirt and made my mom dinner. Seared scallops and grilled fennel and asparagus, if you must know. I also made her a Fenfrew and a tote bag! With houses on it! Because she’s an architect! It was adorable! But I had to share with you another cat-centric shot because for the time being that’s the only mothering I’m prepared to do.

Goodness, we are almost at the halfway point for this month of me-made-moments. How is everyone doing? Anyone need a breather, or some water, or maybe a stiff drink? We’re going to make it, people. I know it.

6 Comments

Filed under Burda Style, Challenge, Clothing, Simplicity Patterns

6 responses to “Me Made May 11, 12 and 13 (skirting the issue)

  1. Skirts! Love ’em, especially the day 13 skirt– so cute!

  2. You are adorable – love every skirt! But you didn’t like the book version of “A Wrinkle in Time”? I LOVED it! I think I even wrote down quotes from it at one point. I loved all of her books though – even the ones that got progressively cornier! (I’m looking at you, book about dolphins talking to people!) 🙂

    • Yeah, I know a lot of people like the book a lot and all of L’Eagel’s work. I didn’t like the protagonist, so I couldn’t really get into it! I’m sorry!

  3. Oh my goodness! My parents in law live in Malvern! Also, is it sad that you are the only reason I feel like we should visit them like, now, before you move to NYC? I love that last skirt (and seared scallops and the cat, if you must know).

    • Hahaha, oh, well, Malvern is pretty at least, a cute town! I don’t know, honestly, the suburbs are all the same to me, and I went to school in Wynnewood, so I know of what I speak. But if you came to visit that would just be the best!

Leave a Reply

