The Completely Uncreative Blouse (Me Made May 14!)

I don’t normally do this, but I totally made a blouse that closely and deeply resembles the cover art of the pattern.

Everything on the left side of this pattern art is bizarre. Why would you ever wear such things, let alone make them? That being said, this is an adorable blouse. It’s really a very nice pattern, I can certainly see why it’s so popular. I have been thinking a lot about size recently so I cut out at 16 rather then my normal 14 because I have heard you should take the desired final bust measurement (if the pattern provides that) rather then the recommended measurement. I like to have some ease in the bust, and I really wanted to get out of doing a Full Bust Adjustment, so, yeah. Cheaters never prosper, unless they DO:

Yeah, baby! And because I cut a larger size, this blouse aced the Mena test (the stretch in the poplin I used, remnents of my Peppermint Pastille, also helped) and I didn’t have to put in the side zipper indicated in the instructions. Life win.

As I typically do the first time I make anything, I followed the instructions. When I make other versions of this blouse (which I’m totally doing, this thing is adorable) I will omit the neck facing, because I hate facings with a passion I usually reserve for exact change and chocolate, and use bias tape to finish the neckline instead. Otherwise, I wouldn’t change a thing. Thought I am curious to see what happens when I make this pattern in a non-stretch woven. Ah, a future adventure.

The pants are my denim clovers. If Me Made May was a sports team, those would be called my MVPs.

A little side view for you.

It’s a bit wrinkled, and it could probably use a swayback adjustment, but what are you going to do? Oh, you can tell here that I didn’t cut the back on the fold, I cut two pieces and added some seam allowance. Really, not cutting things on the fold opens you up to a hell of a lot, fabric efficiency-wise.

Thumbs up for fabric efficiency! Yeah.

This blouse might seam rather simple, but I have to say, I adore the diamond darts and careful drafting, it’s great for curvy women like myself. One shirt, 6 darts. Worth it.

15 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing, Colette Patterns, New Look Patterns, Sewing

15 responses to “The Completely Uncreative Blouse (Me Made May 14!)

  1. oooooh cute top!! i’ve had that pattern forever and never even cut into it, i might have to now!

  2. I have patterns organized by company in “make soon” boxes. I swear that shirt pattern has been on my make soon list for 3 years!!! Every season I go through and rotate the patterns but this one always stays. It looks very cute on you! Maybe it might get put in a “make sooner than soon” box 🙂

  3. This is very pretty! Isn’t it funny how sometimes you end up with the same basic fabric that’s on the pattern without even trying?

  4. I have one of these in a silly cotton combination and everytime I wear it I love it, but whne i pass the pattern in the bin, it gets a ‘meh’ from me. Weird. I like your sleek version.

  5. Super cute! I love this color on you!

  6. sewinsteady

    Looks adorable! This is the pattern I used way back when – and same version – for my first actually wearable sewing project! I’ve planned to make it again and again, since it’s so versatile, but have yet to actually do so. :-/

  7. i love the simple, clean lines of this. this shirt says: t-shirt comfort and versatility hybridized with blouse elegance and puttogetherness.

  8. So adorbs! I always feel a little lame if my garment is too similar to the envelope, but if it’s a win, it’s a win. And this is a win. Go stretch poplin! Love the scarf, too. (And the wacky shirt in the upper left… totally would have worn that in high school.)

Leave a Reply

