Me Made May 29, 30 and 31! Final Station Stop!

Wow. After 31 days of me made madness we have finally come to the end of the line! Goodness.

Really quickly, before the pontificating, let’s check in with the outfits:

May 29th!

My nautical bias skirt with a blouse I never bothered to document here, it’s a sorbetto with no pleat, just pintucks. I had some fabric leftover from my Flirting with the Forties blouse (which I made, goodness, how long ago?) so I used that. I love this blouse, I just never got around to photographing and making an homage to it.

Day 30!

My pro-petter pan blouse with a store-bought skirt. This is actually one of my favorite skirts and the waistband NEVER GETS MESSED UP. How does that work? Damn you, H and M!

Day 31!

My final outfit! My Wildcard pants with another sorbetto, also never really documented here. But check out what I managed to do:

Do you know how hard it is to take a photo of yourself in the mirror with a large camera and do a thumbs up ? But I did it. FOR ME MADE MAY!

The scarf is both new and vintage, and extra special. Why?:

Awesome. Got it on le etsy. Thanks, etsy!

It seems like only yesterday I was vowing to only wear stuff I made and look how the time has flown! I have to say, it’s been a challenge in a different way than last year. Last June when I did this challenge for the first time I had far less that I had made, and this year I had lots of options. and the challenge became about how to combine them in new ways. And I must say, I don’t think I repeated any one combination, which is nice! I also made some new stuff, including a baby quilt using old scraps for a co-worker, and I must say, I felt really special wearing all my me made stuff all month.

It also reminded me of a few things.

1. There are things I made that I don’t like or wear. And hey, that’s okay! Some of them I made when I was less experienced, some of them I thought would work but don’t, and some of them I don’t know what the hell I was doing when I made that crap, but for whatever reason, those items don’t work for me. I will be getting rid of them to make room for new things.

2. I wear separates a lot more than I wear dresses.

3. With that in mind, I need a good serviceable bikeable black skirt. Anyone have any pattern ideas or preferences? Many was the time this month that I saw that as a gap in my closet.

4. There are a lot of things I made that I really like! Including the new items in my Spring/Summer Palette challenge! So that’s nice.

5. I love this challenge. I love celebrating what I’ve made and seeing how other people style what they’ve created. I find it inspirational and excellent. So thank you, everyone who participated, I really loved all the posts I read, and a HUGE thanks to Zoe for organizing this yearly shin-dig! Thank you, Zoe! I salute you!

7 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing

7 responses to “Me Made May 29, 30 and 31! Final Station Stop!

  1. this lady had the best idea for bikeable pencil skirts to put in an upside-down zipper at the hem so she could unzip for biking and zip for normal activities. eventually i’ll get around to making something like that! in the meantime, i like tap pants instead of slips under skirts for biking (better coverage!) and i find full skirts that are above the knee to be really good for biking and not getting the skirt caught in the rear spokes or the chain. cheers to a fab me-made may!

    • Yeah, I’m a big fan of the full skirt for biking, and I usually make tap pants or wear bike shorts underneath. I’m not sure that I would like the idea of a skirt with a zipper in the hem, genius as it sounds, but who knows, it might be just the thing for me!

  2. I really like our pro peter pan blouse!! Which pattern is that??
    I also completed MMM and found that I have a hige gap in my wardrobe and things I don’t wear because I made when I first started… unlined, see through, hahahha live and learn!

    • Oh, it’s from BurdaStyle, it’s the Ute blouse, really cute, both variations!

      Yeah, I look back on early sewing me and just shake my head at my childish ignorance.

  3. Loved your outfits this month! It was so fun seeing all of them!

  4. I have found that Colette’s Meringue and Ginger skirts and Sewaholic’s Crescent skirt are good for biking. (I bike to work every day and have been wearing my Meringue all the time this month.) There’s enough room to move your legs in them, but not so much fabric that it might get caught in the bike.

Leave a Reply

