The Avoidence Top

I’m not going to lie to you. I have, at this moment, 3 dresses and 2 skirts which I have made which have yet to be photographed and recorded (and therefore they might as well just not exist). That is 5 pieces of clothing I have made recently and have yet to show the world. And I’m working on a sixth! That’s a true story! Now, one of these things is a dress for the wedding I shall be attending next Sunday (Team Jenny’s Wedding! WOOOOOOOO!) but other than that, I have no excuse, let’s be real. And instead of showing you ANY of these things, I’m going to show you the top I whipped up late last night. What can I say, I’m a fairly sick individual.

It’s strange, in real life I’m not an avoider, except of confrontation (sidenote, people always say they shy away from confrontation. Well of-fricking-course they do! Who LIKES confrontation?) but somehow I just don’t like to ask people to take photos of me, and I hate torturing my mother, who has to like me regardless, so it’s hard to get things photographed. However, I am taking all this stuff with me to Chicago for the wedding, so my darling friends ought to prepare themselves for photographer duties. Thanks in advance, Becca and Lisa! Note how I didn’t give you a choice? Yeah, that’s 100% intentional.

In fact, that’s the only way I got the following photos to happen, by strongarming my friend Sarah. Sarah, however, is delightful, and she played along with the whole photography thing excellently. Given the fact that we’ve been friends since we were about 6 years old, I would expect nothing less.

Just a little park shot between apartment showings and shopping sessions! This shirt is a Dixie DIY pattern which sadly has been discontinued. Dixie has since published her Concert T-Shirt pattern, which is adorable, but I actually really wanted to make this one work because I was really on the fence about the last one I made.

What a difference a fabric makes! This is clearly what Dixie had in mind when she drafted this pattern. This light and airy jersey from GirlCharlee is fantastic and perfect for this pattern. Instead of feeling awkward like the last time I used this pattern, I feel chic and breezy, and I love the way the shirt drapes! Fabric, people. It’s a revelation.

This shirt is crazy easy to put together. It took me about 2 hours to cut out and sew, so you know I love something like that. It also only uses a yard of fabric, so it’s basically my new best friend. A shirt ready to wear before I’ve finished watching the late night screening of Common Law? Amazing.

Can we talk a bit more about GirlCharlee? Good LORD the knits there are amazing. A. Maz. Ing. I got 6 yards of amazing knits for 30 dollars. WHAT? Yes. Awesome. I love GirlCharlee.

That’s love all over my face.

I totally cut the front piece upside down. Yes. I did. I don’t care, I really don’t. Still, I find it rather funny.

Sarah REALLY wanted to photograph my chest area.And when she did you can clearly see that these tables don’t want to deal with normalcy. Or gravity. They just want to live upside down. I suppose I must deal with that.

I love it! NO ambiguity, no quibbling, I love this shirt.

Now, back to those other pieces of clothing. Anyone want to photograph me? Anyone? Buller?

8 Comments

Filed under Burda Style, Challenge, Clothing

8 responses to “The Avoidence Top

  1. I love it! it looks great on you. I always worry that style will look crazy with my already big hips, but man, it’s so cute! 🙂 I’m heading over to take a look at Girl Charlee right now!

    • Oh,good, go over there, and check it out! I worried about the hip thing too, as mine are on the larger size, but the light and floaty fabric made that not so much of an issue!

  2. Super cute! This is the perfect summer top! I just got an order from Girl Charlee yesterday– their knits are so fun and cheap!!

  3. Sue

    This top is ADORABLE. So stylish. 🙂
    Also, THANK YOU x2093842875 for sharing GirlCharlee. Finally, I’ve found a source for cute knits that are affordable. FINALLY!

  4. MEEEE!!! I like a good confrontation hahaha! But you’re right – most people hate confrontation, so it really throws them off when you whip around and say, “Excuuuuse me? Would you like to say that again to my face?” lol

    And girl, you need to get you a tripod! You can get them for cheap if you lurk around – my newest one (I have two – see, told you they were cheap) came with my camera. Even those little Gorilla pods that you wrap around stuff are only like $15. Then you can take pictures whenever you feel like it 🙂

    • Haha, well if anyone would like confrontation, it makes sense that it would be you.

      I totally need a tripod. In a big way. I’m going to get one, I swear, for my birthday, because this is insane.

Leave a Reply

