The Call It Compulsion Top

I could also call this the “better than before but still a struggle” top. Or the “why do you torture yourself” top. Or the “shapeless but useful” top. There are a lot of ways I could have gone with this one.

I don’t know what the hell my problem is but every once in a while when I come across a pattern which doesn’t work for me I feel compelled to MAKE. IT. WORK. It will not defeat me. I’m a human, it’s a small pile of paper. I will fight. I will strive. I’m going to make this style/shape/combo work or DIE. TRYING. And so I get all worked up and slave over something and then finally have to admit that A. it’s not great and B. I don’t have to look great in every pattern, it’s okay, life, somehow, goes on…

But despite these useful lessons of the past, I made this top. And I was, initially, really excited about this top! The pattern is actually Colette Patterns’ Taffy Blouse, which I didn’t adore in practice, but I loved the way the bias cut hung over my body, so smooth and comfortable! So I thought, okay, why not try it sleeveless, as the sleeves were my major sticking point in the past. And I had a bit of fabric left over from that luscious if more-shiny-then-I-typically-go-for charmuse from my Something Blue dress, so I thought, okay, let’s do this thing!

So I cut it out, piecing the back together, and I french seamed and bias tape made and generally did it all by the book (literally).

And, you know, when I first tried it on I loved it. But looking at these photos I have come to the charming realization that this thing is rather shapeless. Like, not flattering. At all.

The look on my face says it all. Meh. Just meh. Mehville, population me.

I shouldn’t say that, though, really. I mean, I think this is actually going to be a rather useful piece of clothing, as a very comfortable silk (silk!) shell. But on it’s on? Well, I don’t think it does much for me.

In other news, these are the first blog photos I have taken with my new tripod! WHAT? Yes! I got it for my birthday, thanks, Mamala! No more torturing other people, no more angry photo sessions, just me, my tripod and some limber running into place. I can do that, right?

I’m still working out how to use it well, but this photo shoot was FUN! I’m a bit off-center in most of these, but hey, I will figure it out. Thanks for suggesting this, commentors (specifically Lauren), I don’t know why I didn’t think of this earlier!

But one mustn’t be all negative to this poor blouse. I tucked it in, and prefered the results infinitely:

See, that’s better, right?

See, that highlights my waist, instead of making me look, well, wide. And one does so prefer to look slim, now, doesn’t one?

The shorts, by the way, are Simplicity 7866, and you can win that pattern in this giveaway! Now, is that service or is that service.

Of course, being who I am, I couldn’t help but play with the tripod and the timer setting a bit. Want to see?

Yeah. Do you ever do this? Not play with your tripod, I mean, do you see a pattern as a nemesis who must be defeated, rather then what it REALLY IS, a style of clothing that may or may not suit you? I know empirically that not every style is my style and yet sometimes when it comes down too it I get oddly stubborn about patterns. I don’t regret making this blouse, really, I think it will be very useful and it’s lovely to wear, that silk, it’s expensive for a reason, I suppose, but I wouldn’t say it’s the most flattering thing I’ve even sewn. I think I’m throwing in the towel, Taffy, I really did try. I gave you my all. But you give love a bad name…

Yeah. Still sorting out the tripod. I’ll get there. I promose.

22 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Colette Patterns, Sewing

22 responses to “The Call It Compulsion Top

  1. I know how you feel about wanting to make a pattern work. How about running a single row of shirring around the waist to give it some definition? And you could do the same thing along the shoulder seams to add visual interest. I have a RTW top in a similar color and style with these features and it’s flattering on. I could email you a pic if you are interested.

    Loving all the give-aways 🙂

    Katrina

    • Hmmm, I can’t quite picture that. I don’t know that shirring would work at the waist, but maybe on the shoulders? I don’t know, I’m not one to “save” a garment once it’s done construction, I will probably just leave it as it is, but if you have a photo, I would love to see it!
      Thank you!

  2. Siobhan

    Ugh, every time. I can’t count the number of Sorbettos I’ve sewn up, trying to make it work. I just can’t accept the fact that not everything works for me! It applies to RTW fashion trends, too. (Muu-Muu tanks, I’m looking at you.)

  3. I don’t think it makes you look big untucked. And that colour is beautiful on you! I guess it turned out te be a tie between you & Taffy 🙂

  4. Don’t give up on it yet – this looks like a perfect top to wear with a cardigan or jacket, the pop of colour is fabulous and I imagine the silk feels lovely against your skin. Maybe it’s just not a ‘height of summer’ top?

  5. madewithwhimsy

    well it’s maybe not the most interesting thing you’ve ever sewn but it will be a good basic. I also have given up on the taffy blouse 😦

  6. Awww, man, how annoying! I don’t think I’ve revisited a pattern that didn’t work out, but I’ll get seduced by shapes that do nothing for me because they look cute on someone else. Then, once I’ve made it, I’m cursing myself for having made another stupid A-line skirt! Ugh!

    • Oh, god, other people are just so seductive. That’s why, even though I look like hell in flowy lose crap, I have to physically force myself not to make it…It looks so good on other people! Why, God, why me?

      • OMG YES!!! btw i’m looking at you, oona and tanit-is, and y’all’s maxi dresses!! and why yes i did just type a word with 2 apostrophes. damn a lovely flowy dress looks amazing. on other people, not on me. i have to keep repeating that all summer!

  7. So glad I’m not the only one who does this, I am also a victim of this sort of fatal attraction.

    I love this color, and I think it will be a surprisingly useful basic to wear under a cardigan or with a high-waisted pencil skirt. 🙂

  8. Yay, your tripod!! Isn’t it awesome being able to take pictures yourself without anyone looking on? I dunno about you… but I hate having people watch me pose haha. I feel so awkward! With mah tripod, tho, we take like 50+ pictures (not even exaggerating) and then I have plenty to choose from since I apparently love making derp face in most of ’em. Finding a good light kind of sucks, but it’s a small price to pay.

    I think the shirt looks totally cute on you, but I know the feeling of thinking something isn’t flattering when everyone else looves it. Try wearing it with something super-high waisted and see if that changes your mind. If not, consider it super classy sleepwear 🙂

    • My biggest thing with the tripod is the background, I love the idea of having an cool background, but I’m concerned that people will think me weird if I just go places and set up my tripod. Still, I’m totally going to do it. Just for kicks. I mean, whatever, really.

      Fancy sleepwear! That’s a stellar idea! Only, I have nothing left to make bottoms with, but perhaps I could make something in a contrasting fabric…..Lauren, your ideas, they are the best.

  9. Am I allowed to feel that way about pants in general? 😉

    Congratulations on your tripod acquisition! My current tripod is Walnut’s cat tree. And I’m with everyone else on it not being as bad as you think untucked…sometimes you just need a loose top in a luxe fabric!

    • Hahaha, you are allowed to feel that way about anything. But I am sorry about your pants woes! I’m so blase about the fit of pants, I’m like, it’s decent? Cool. Let’s go with it.

      Thank you! I love my tripod, it is my new best friend.

  10. I really like your blouse, tucked in or untucked, it looks both good on you! Especially with the shorts. And the color and fabric are great!
    It happens to me sometimes that I make something that totally doesn’t suit me, but then I just leave it and make something else. It’s easier and quicker to sew up patterns which I know will suit me!

  11. P.S. I forwarded the versatile blog award to you, really like your blog! You can find the details on my blog!

Leave a Reply

