The No Place Like Home Outfit

And now we come to my costume. My costume which is of course the iconic and rather boring Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.

At the age of ten I was IN The Wizard of Oz, but I was the Cowardly Lion. I was AMAZING. This is a fact. Ask my mom. It’s for real. But this year I decided to be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. Why? I couldn’t tell you. I have no really reason why I decided on this costume. I just knew I could make that costume and I felt like it would be easy and…no other reason. I’m a weird fixator. So that was all decided.

And then I made it! This is not that great of a story…

Again, Emily snapped these of me quickly at that same Halloween party I had previously mentioned, so the color quality is…terrible. Sigh.

I took a Burda-Style pattern, the ever popular ever hated Dress with Gathered Skirt, and modified the bodice. I basically chopped off the arms, made up the bodice as a strapless one, and then added strips in for sleeves. I then took two large rectangles and gathered them for the skirt. Side zipper, machine hem, boom.

I also made the blouse, a JJ Blouse without ruffles. Boy, Burda Style really did me well for Halloween!

A little back view for you.

I got the red shoes from Payless, I know, I know, that’s terrible for the world, but they WERE cheap…

Because I wore what is essentially a cute and non-threatening or creepy or extremely revealing costume, and I wore it on the subway, people felt quite comfortable coming up and talking to me all night, both in Manhattan and in Brooklyn. It was rather disconcerting, but fine.

Oh, yes, here is my toto:

Given the insane hurricane that hit the East Coast this week, I’m stuck in my apartment (and in Brooklyn in general, the subways have been shut down since Sunday). So I hope you are all safe and secure if you were in the path of the storm, or even if you weren’t! Happy Halloween!

8 Comments

Filed under Burda Style, Clothing, Costume, Sewing

8 responses to “The No Place Like Home Outfit

  1. You look adorable! Your costume came out so well. Glad you’re safe in the BK!

  2. terry

    love it and the kitty!

  3. KC

    Very cute and not boring at all!

  4. Nope, not boring- adorable!

  5. Amy

    I’ve made that Burda dress and I hear you on the hate. Ugh. You did a great job with it though and you look adorable!

  6. How cute! What a sweet costume! I bet you were great in the play. 😉

  7. Perfection!! Happy Halloween!!! You look adorable.

  8. Absolutely gorgeous!!!
    I don’t think that costume is boring at all! I might be biased though cos I also dressed up as Dorothy this year hehehehe (http://www.sewmelove.com/2012/10/me-made-halloween.html)

    Last year I was covered in blood as a zombie but this year I wanted to look non-scary cos I was getting nightmares from reading Halloween make up tutorials!!

Leave a Reply

