The Weirdly Sexy Shirt

Nota bene, I was not the person who thought this shirt was weirdly sexy. In fact, I didn’t think of it as sexy at all. I wore this to the costume shop at which I work about two weeks ago (I MADE THIS OVER A MONTH AGO WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME? Finding time to SEW isn’t my problem, it’s taking flipping pictures of my flipping work! That’s why there’s been radio silence for a while, not because I am not sewing, but because I am no documenting what I sew. And I even have a tripod! What is my deal? That’s a question for therapy. Onwards!) and a girl with whom I work said, Leah, I like that shirt, it’s really weirdly sexy. And I said, thank you! I think?

WS 1The pattern is Cindy‘s amazing Dolman Sleeve shirt. I’ve been meaning to make this wonderful free think for ages, months! But for whatever reason I just didn’t get around to it. Then, finally, about a month ago, I took myself in hand and I said, self, make the damn shirt! And thus this creation was born.

This bizarre wonderful fabric is totally a velour, which makes me feel like a retiree in Florida off to shuffleboard, but what can you do. It’s from the Hoarder Stash, and I’m keeping with my stashbusting, so I think that’s all to the good!

WS 2I love this pattern. I want to make 10 more. I lengthened the sleeves on Cindy’s lovely design (and I would lengthen more next time, my wrists get chilly!) but otherwise I made no changes to the original design. I love the length, I love the fit, I love the mobility of the sleeves, and for whatever reason, whenever I wear this people compliment me!

WS 4Today at a play reading someone said I looked like a Modrian painting. Which I guess is only a nice thing if you like Modrian, but I’m going with it.

WS 3My lovely roommate Emily took these photos. We both loved this one, because I mean, look at my hair! It’s its own animal!

Speaking of animals:

WS 9I’ve been cutting out a lot of projects lately, from my Sewing for Victory patterns (I got so excited about the 1940’s that I’m making three, maybe four things! I haven’t decided whether or not to make number four, but I’ve finished one and two and am on three, so get excited. See, I told you SEWING isn’t the issue…). And of course, as he so often does, Cadfael is unbearably helpful in this process.

WS 8You want to cut? But, this is a bed…

WS 10It’s ALL beds. All the things are beds. Don’t you know that by now?

Seriously, though, if you haven’t tried Cindy’s amazing Dolman sleeve top, grab yourself a knit material and do it. I want to make longer sleeved ones and shorter sleeved ones and live in this daily.

Why, you ask? Well, if you can’t SEE for yourself, at least know this.  I can dance in it. And that’s always my gauge for all things. How much can I dance?

I can dance so much:

WS 6

WS 5WS 7So. Much. If you can’t dance in something, what’s the point of wearing it?

17 Comments

Filed under Cation Designs, Clothing, knit, Sewing

17 responses to “The Weirdly Sexy Shirt

  1. looks great 🙂

    I have made one and I want to make many more of that pattern as well.

  2. You’re so funny! And cute! Love your top – I’ve made about a bazillion of these, and still want more!

  3. Cute top! It looks really comfy and versatile. Looking forward to seeing all those 40’s makes, you’ve been busy!

  4. Cute! I love the pictures of your cats, I can totally see him saying that based on his expression. 😛 And yes, you must be able to dance in your clothes!!! 🙂

  5. Lovely top. I love how the colours work together and they really suit you.

  6. Clare

    Beautiful top but the photos of Cadfael completely hijacked this post!

  7. Looks great. I should definitely try this pattern!

  8. Ahahahaha I’m sorry, but my first thought when I saw the picture was hmmm, that looks like a Mondrian painting. But, hey, if Mondrian paintings are weirdly sexy, that’s awesome. I’m so glad that the pattern worked out for you! I’ve made a whole week’s worth of this top in various sleeve lengths, and I STILL want more, but to hear that from other people is very gratifying. And that BroCad, he is SUCH a cat. Everything is a bed except the actual, specifically-purchased-for-you bed. Can’t wait to see what you make for the 40s!

    • I. LOVE. THIS. PATTERN. Thank you so much for releasing it, I just adore it! It’s so comfortable and well fitting and people tell me they love this every time I put it on. I’m going to make a bunch more. And, like, a dress. I’m going to make ALL the shirts.

      Cadfael loves him some everything but the bed I bought him. Felines are funny.

  9. The way the stripes work in this is great! I just made one of these ,too and I have to agree with your friend: it’s a weirdly sexy shirt! I think everyone should make one… or five!

Leave a Reply

