The My Kind of Staple Skirt

First of all, thank you people all so damn much for your kind comments about my last very form fitting dress! I really appreciate all the love, you people are amazing. I get really weird and nervous about putting those photos on the internets, so thank you. Seriously. You are all way too kind and way too amazing, and thank you for your advice about knit hems and junk in the trunk. Saving all my future makes is what you people do best!

So, you know how Vogue and Marie Claire and Glamour have an article every five minutes about “The Five Staples You Need Right Now” or, “The Ten Pieces You Need For Spring” or “The Only Things You’ll Ever Need To Wear”, like no one is every going to shop again, like fashion as an industry is just going to stop and throw up it’s hands, all, okay, we’re all done. These things do not happen. And yet, the magazines keep selling! I myself buy them! What the hell? So we’ve all heard this mishagas about “staples”, like, THE black pant, THE white shirt, THE floral trench for 5000 dollars (which everyone totally needs, SAID NO ONE EVER). But of course, for convenience and simplicity and just normal day-to-day needs, most people DO have staples, they do have a sort of uniform. And mine is typically woven skirt, knit top, tights, go, especially in this long cold Spring we are having up here in the mid-Atlantic. So it’s obviously in my best interests to make things that correspond with that pattern. Hence this lovely thing I made recently:

RS 1I have, of course, made this before, and pretty damn recently, too. It’s Simplicity 4529, which I have learned from experience needs a non-stretch woven to work. But I think when it works, IT REALLY WORKS. Am I right? Even though the expression on my face above looks like I’m eating glass. I really need to work on my face…

RS 2

Ignore the line of my shirt which you can totally see here, and isn’t this nice? Yes, it’s a bit wrinkled, whatever, I live a life of wrinkles, one must accept such things. The one seam of this 10 dart skirt (10 DARTS! My mind balks each time I consider it, but clearly darts are the key to happiness!) is finished with navy bias tape, which you can see peeking out here at the back vent.

RS 5

More wrinkles, sigh. But I love this skirt! And the three times I’ve worn it thus far, everyone around me has told me they like it, including my bosses at the costume shop , who, like, sew for a living and are the real deal. So I feel pretty darn good about this. How good?

RS 4This good! To be fair, I’m more laughing because my friend Ben, who took these photos, made me crack up. Also, it was so damn cold when we took these. Also, it’s the end of March. Also, it snowed today. SO that’s why I’m making wool flipping pencil skirts at the end of March.

To the sewing! I made no changes except that this one has an invisible zipper not a visible one, which, I mean, I hate invisible zippers, but it’s what I had. I also shortened it by 3 inches or so, which is my standard for this pattern now. This buttery spongy wool I bought last winter at the Pennsylvania Fabric Outlet and I got the last remnant on the spool, and I pet it for a full year before I actually made this. But I’m so glad I did! I love this skirt, and, weather being what it is, I will probably get a lot of use out of it before it gets too warm.

RS 3I’m trying to dance to stay warm here because it was seriously cold. But I’m so thrilled Ben took these photos of me, after a bagel brunch celebrating our last leavened product for a while, it’s Passover now, goodbye breadybye!

So how to I feel to have a well-fitting red pencil skirt that I love and is my version of a staple?

RS 6I think you can figure it out.

 

19 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

19 responses to “The My Kind of Staple Skirt

  1. Super cute skirt! I think it’s great to take the time to make something you know you’ll wear and love, instead of something that’s less your style or less practical. Good job!

  2. Love, love, love! It is a great colour and a great fit. It suits you so well. Can you tell I’m secretly coveting this?!

  3. Such a cool skirt! And props, I don’t think I’ve ever sewn anything with 10 darts in it, but both versions of this skirt that I’ve seen you make look great on you 🙂

  4. It is my personal belief that nothing makes a sew – er/ist? happier than making a new red skirt, in fact I think you might have inspired me to make another one!

  5. Way cute! This looks and fits great! Must be the ten darts!

  6. Well, those ten darts are sure working! This skirt fits perfectly!

  7. Gorgeous! You suit lively colours so much and the fit is spot on!

  8. I think darts may be the key to happiness. I recently made a red dress with 12 of them (I think. I confess, I lost count) and I love it! (I think this is where I should put a link to my post on it but I’m running out of time and shouldn’t be online reading about sewing, but off doing stuff.)
    That’s a great skirt! colour and fit and overall style on your figure. Mmm!

  9. This is ridiculously rad! I love this colour and style on you- super sharp!

  10. It looks great – I’m on the look out for a skirt pattern I will make over and over, this one seems like a good contender.

  11. Pingback: Me Made May 23-29, or there and back again | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

