The Old Fashioned Outfit

Before I write anything else, I just want to say, thank you very much, all of you, for your gorgeous and wonderful comments on my last post. I’m always a bit reticent to share real emotions digitally, after all, as we all know, the internets is no place for feelings. But in the swirl of all this nostalgia, I felt some impulsive need to inject a touch of reality, or at least, my reality, into the vintage mania, which I myself truly do share. Thank you all for reading, really, it means more to me then I can say.

And now, onto my second Sew For Victory outfit! This one is actually a reproduction print, the ever popular Simplicity 3688. I took the blouse and skirt patterns and made them both, in a Spring (or at least anticipating Spring! Come on, Spring!) outfit. And here is what I came out with:

TFRO 1

As I look at this photo, I realize there is just a ton of fabric bunching at the waist. Oh, well, what are you going to do. I omitted the waist tucks, serves me right.

TFRO 2As you may recall (though why on Earth would you…) I’ve actually made this skirt before. But I’ve never made this blouse, and I honestly do like it quite a bit. The neckline is a bit high, and I had to add two darts at each shoulder to get the sleeve to ease into the arm, but otherwise it really works for me.

TOFO 3

The blouse material came from Fabric.com from a year ago, and the skirt material came from an Etsy seller two full years ago. STASH BUSTING FOR THE WIN!

TOFO 4I shortened the skirt about 5 inches (because, for real, I am short, and also, I want to wear this thing, not just save it for theme parties!) but otherwise made no changes.

TOFO 5Dance break!

TOFO 7

I love the print, I think it’s perfect for spring! The look might be a bit modest, but I think it’s pretty cute and flattering, even given women with less then subtle chests.

TOFO 6A whole bunch of darts in that sleeve cap.

TOFO 8And there you can just see the flatfelled seams of the skirt.

And there you have it! More 1940’s stuff. I do truly love the lines and shapes of this period. This skirt falls rather stiffly, but really it’s not as big as it seems, and it’s easy to make it fabric efficient. As is the blouse! Makes it all the easier to keep the home fires burning.

Also, as a last word, the title of this post actually refers to the Frightened Rabbit song, Old Old Fashioned. Love it.

10 Comments

Filed under Challenge, Clothing, Sewing, Vintage

10 responses to “The Old Fashioned Outfit

  1. I’ve just given you a Liebster Award as I love following and reading your blog http://dreamingofavonlea.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/liebster-award/ Hope you don’t already have one, although if you do you can just fill up your blogging display cabinet more! Hope you can pass it on as well xxx

  2. Wait, I think you MADE it be spring, because today is beautiful! Way to go!

  3. Too cute! This pattern and the fabric make for all kinds of awesome! What a fab make! You are the 40s fashion rockstar 😀

  4. I love the fabric you chose and the colors are just perfect for you. Lovely!

  5. Pingback: The “April Is The Cruelist Month” Top | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

  6. Pingback: The Dream Big Top | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

