The Happy Holidays Dress!

Happy 2014 everyone! I write this from a bed and breakfast in Galway, Ireland, where I finally have a strong internet connection and a little bit of time on my hands. I hope you all rang in the New Year with joy and happiness and ALL the booze, and that you have survived your hangover with the greasiest of foods and the largest of painkillers.

In sewalong news, I’m so sorry I couldn’t fit one more post in before I left! I promise all sorts of goodies for my return, including an Irish treat as a giveaway to make up for my failure. Also, I realized in retrospect I did not post the badge I made! I’m sorry, guys, and now I’m typing this an ocean away from my normal stuff and can’t, I promise I will when I get back to New York on the 7th! Don’t hate me! Don’t quit! Oh my god, I’ve been waiting my whole life to say this, THINK OF THE CHILDREN! Here, I found this free pattern, take this and love me again!

teddy-bear-2

Okay, so obviously to the horror of my family and my brother’s girlfriend, Lydia, who has joined us on this jaunt to the Emerald Isle, I tend to use trips as opportunities to document large amounts of new items in interesting places. So my suitcase arrived here filled with new things for my long suffering loved-ones to photograph for me. And, nice people that they are, they do, and so here is number one, a simple wool sweater dress I made almost a month ago and have worn to literally every holiday party I attended:

HH 3Please excuse the yellow indoory photos. This was the first night of our trip and I got so excited I just had to get these photos taken! The pattern is an altered Sewaholic Renfrew, I have made so many of these I have totally lost count. I just lengthened it. That’s all there was too it.

HH 6The wool sweater knit I got from Mood Fabrics, and it is extremely warm and cozy, and much thicker then I thought (online ordering is a mixed bag). But that just means it holds it’s shape really well and doesn’t allow underwear lines so that’s all to the good. And it’s stood up to cold weather in New York, Philadelphia and Dublin, so I’m a fan.

HH 5

This took me, like, two hours to make, maybe less, cutting to hemming. It was a total procrastination project, I had to write, but I also had a party to go to and NOT A THING to wear. So. You know. Things happen. Dresses get made. Is what it is.

HH 4

A bit blurry but you get the idea. It hugs the curves nicely, no?

HH 1

How was Dublin, you ask? Well we are going back but on this day we arrived, shook off our jetlag, and walked around seeing this:

HH 7And this sad memorial of the Potato Famine:

HH 8And this cool boat:

hh 9And this lovely park:

HH 11With this adorable park guide:

HH 10And then we went to buy food:HH 12And buy food I mean cheese:

HH 13And the cheese was amazing:

HH 14Which made me feel like this:

HH 2Stay tuned for more updates as time and internet connection allows, and if not in the next few days then certainly there will be a barrage of posts upon my return!

2014 for the win!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Sewaholic Patterns, Sewing, Travel

5 responses to “The Happy Holidays Dress!

  1. I was just saying I love looking at photos others take! Thank you for sharing and have a Happy New Year in your lovely dress!

  2. Miriana

    Galway in January. Good thing you have a warm dress!

  3. Judi

    Your dress looks nice…have fun over there!

  4. Perfect fabric choice for that lovely dress and fantastic fit too!

  5. Pingback: The Sweaters Everywhere Skirt | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a Reply

