The Easy Being Green Dress

Ever since I started sewing, Black Friday has taken on a strange feeling for me. I’ve never been all that into Black Friday, honestly, my family doesn’t celebrate Christmas because….Judaism, so I never needed to take advantage of the sales to make sure I have gifts for everyone. But since I started sewing, even though I got into it because it seemed fun, I think quite differently about consumption and buying and the impact of my buying choices. Of course, some might say that I’ve shifted my commerce from clothing to FABRIC but these are lies, lies I say! No, I am trying not to buy fabric unless it’s for a specific project, which is HARD, people, I swear. Anyway, regardless of my fabric consumption which depending on who you talk to is minimal (me) to out of control (Mr. Struggle, foolish silly man, he should know better than to get between me and my fabric…) I just don’t really buy clothing anymore. The rare sports bra or a piece of outerwear, perhaps, but nothing more. So when I see all of the sales and the flurry of activity on the Friday after Thanksgiving, it’s interesting to me but I see it from far away, like I’m watching a movie. Which is probably bad, because there are things I should buy, but I can’t bear to be a part of that experience, honestly, it just seems awful and exhausting and besides, the idea of undressing and trying on a bunch of clothing in dress-room lighting after a huge meal the day before sounds about as fun as a root canal. Without drugs.

I know there are people who love this holiday, Black Friday, that is, and you always hear about crowds lining up earlier and earlier outside of large stores waiting for their deals, but honestly, I can’t imagine that. And then you always hear about people who get injured in some way trying to fight someone for that amazing bargain and you have to figure, holiday gifts, expensive, a trip to the hospital over a pair of designer jeans? Priceless. That being said, if Mood Fabric had a Black Friday sale I would probably end up killing someone, straight up, so I shouldn’t judge, right?

So instead of doing any shopping, I spent the day hanging out with my family, writing, and of course, taking a Pilates class to try and deal with the meal situation of the day before. And instead of buying something, I wore a dress I made. Like I do. And I DID buy this fabric on sale almost six months ago in a sweater knit close-out from my beloved Girl Charlee, so, hey, look at that!

EBG1

This is another Sewaholic Renfrew. I’ve made so many of this pattern I can’t even count them. I probably should stop documenting them but OH well, you’re welcome.

The sweater knit was easy as pie to work with, and I even managed to match up stripes which is surprising as I really didn’t have a ton of this fabric with which to work! This is a deeply simple pattern. If you haven’t made it, you probably should. That’s just all I have to say about that. EBG3I’m not usually a stripe person, because of my propensity for eating large amounts of bread most of the time, but I think these kind of work, the thin stripes with the thick ones, it’s a little kinder, don’t you think?

EBG4Ohhhh, blurry. Sigh. Cold weather and early sunsets really don’t help my sewing photos, do they? Indoor photos, meh.

EBG6A little side view where you can admire my awesome stripe matching right there. That’s another thing about Black Friday, once you start sewing and you see what a mess of a lot of discount clothing is, you kind of just roll your eyes like the snob sewing makes you and sigh, impatiently, over mis-matched stripes and plaids and other such nonsense.

EBG2And there we go. Another lightweight sweater dress photographed by my lovely mother and a nice substitute for anything I could have possibly bought.

Ultimately, I think it comes down to money versus time. Right now, I have the time to make things for myself, and so I do, and I can, and that changes my relationship to consumerism. But if my life looked different and my time was differently allocated, maybe I would NEED those Black Friday sales, because I wouldn’t have the time to sew, buying clothing would be a necessity. So it’s easy for me not to participate in shopping culture because I have the time to find an alternative. If I didn’t, I just don’t know. But I hope I keep making this a priority, because I really don’t want to get stabbed at a Target someday….

 

6 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Sewaholic Patterns

6 responses to “The Easy Being Green Dress

  1. Judi

    Very cute dress and you did an awesome job of matching the stripes!

  2. Great dress! I love the green. I just bought a bunch of fabric from Girl Charlee during their online Black Friday sale.

    I don’t do much Black Friday shopping either. Actually the only store I go to on Black Friday is Jo-Ann’s because of their sales on flannel and fleece. There are definitely no stampedes or crazy crowds there. In fact, it is just the opposite. While there are a lot more people than normal, everyone is friendly and we all chat while waiting to get our fabric cut. There are a lot of people who come in buying large amounts of fleece to make the no sew blankets for the cancer ward at the hospital.

  3. Super cute dress. I just bought the Renfrew pattern a couple weeks ago when the pdf was on sale.

    And as for Black Friday, well, up here in Canada, stores are just starting to get on board with it. It’s kind of a random time for us (we celebrate Thanksgiving in October – spread out the turkey!) and traditionally have massive sales on Boxing Day (Dec 26, makes so much more sense). The only reason I would brave these crazy crowds would be for electronics. You can get crazy deals on TVs etc. Crappy rtw mall clothes? Those go on sale all the time, why bother with special sale days and getting stabbed. That said, I did take advantage of a Black Friday/Small Business Saturday.Cyber Monday sale on sewing patterns. So yeah.

  4. Lee

    Keep making sewing a priority! At a certain point it’s about the creativity, not just getting more clothes

  5. Susan C

    Great dress and excellent match on the stripes! How many inches did you add to the Renfrew pattern?

  6. Domi

    Hi! I love your dress. Could you please tell me how you turned it into a dress. I have a beautiful fabric waiting to become a dress like yours but I don’t know how to do it 😦 It would be great if you could help. I’m new to sewing and don’t want to ruine my pretty fabric. Thank you!

Leave a comment