The Jump Or Be Pushed Jacket

Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them. Shakespearian pick up line? Maybe. But it’s also true, in my experience. And while I would LOVE to think I was born great, and would be willing to state that I, on rare occasions, achieve greatness, more often than not, greatness is thrust upon me. And that’s exactly what happened with my latest, and rather ambitious project, a jacket. You see, just over a month ago, I was contacted by Lisa who works at the fantastic Onlinefabricstore.net. It’s a lovely website full of amazing fabrics whose prices decrease as the amount of yardage in your chart increases (a devious trick, but I can’t say I hate it, oh, no, I simple MUST buy more yardage, the discount!). And Lisa offered me fabric if I would make a jacket and post about it here. She said something to the effect of, “that’s one of your goals for the year, right?”. And I had a moment of, ummmm, is it? Sure. Why not. Jacket. I will just do that. No big deal. But then I actually started thinking about making a jacket, and tailoring and technique and whether or not I was ready for this and then the beautiful fabric came, a linen burlap Lisa requested I use, and it was gorgeous but totally see-through and frays like a live wire and I just thought, oh, holy hell, is this actually something I can do? But then I just went ahead and did it. Because you have to jump in, or risk being pushed. And I would rather be the one making the choice. You dig? And I have to say, for a first jacket, I’m pretty damn pleased with this thing. (Slightly more picturesque shot amongst the ivy. You will note that the notebook matches the dress, which isn’t surprising given that I made the dress and covered the notebook with the same fabric. Jealous?) The pattern is Simplicity 4494, a Vintage 1940’s pattern. Let’s take a look at the cover art, shall we? I went with view II, the collarless one, but I used full-length sleeves because honestly a jacket with 3/4 length sleeves just feels ridiculous. It LOOKS cool, but I can’t imagine ever having occasion to really wear the thing. And here is what I came out with: I must say, I’m pretty pleased with this jacket. For a first try at a lot of things I think it turned out very well, if I do say so myself! The arms are a little baggy, but otherwise the fit is nice. I made a muslin, of course, no way I would cut into this expensive fabric without a tester, and found the fit just a touch closer than I wanted for a jacket, which, presumably, has something going underneath it. A normal person might have re-sized this pattern. I just used slightly smaller seam allowances, 1/2 “, rather than the 3/4” noted in the pattern. Worked like a charm. Who says cheaters never prosper?

Checking out my own lining.

Because the fabric was so loosely woven, I had to underline ever piece of linen. You know what I didn’t know about underlining? It’s insanely easy. You literally baste the underlining to the real fabric and use that piece as one piece. It was so helpful in this case, because marking the linen was impossible, but the underlining, plain black cotton, I would mark with ease. And because the jacket is lined, I didn’t have to worry about those markings washing out! I used vintage white and blue striped cotton shirting for the lining, which I got from my Grandfather’s attic. My grandmother had bought something like 20 yards of the stuff. God knows why. The black underlining came from my stash, as did the button. I might replace this at some point with something fancier, but for now this is fine, and I really wanted to use my stash as much as possible. I am really quite pleased with the fit of this jacket. There is enough ease to be comfortable but the princess seams make it fit smoothly and nicely over my curves. There is a bit of baggyness around the upper back near the arm areas, I think you can kind of see where it’s pulling and not lying flat to the body. But it fits in my (admittedly broad) shoulders. The 40’s is a great era for me, I don’t even need the shoulder pads, which I omitted, because my swimmers shoulders are that prominent. I also made a bound buttonhole. It’s not great. No, you can’t see it. I hide my shame from the world. Instead, look at how nicely it fits at the waist! Focus on the good! See? All better. Happy face! I love my new jacket, guys. It may have taken me 5 days to make, or at least 20 hours and it may not be perfect, but it’s my first foray into the exciting world of tailoring, and I have to say, I can’t wait to do more! Gertie is offering an amazing jacket class….anyone want to buy that for me? Anyone? Bueller? Thank you so much, Onlinefabricstore.net for this gorgeous fabric that I never would have gotten to use otherwise.  And to all you reading, I would advise you to check out the website for your spring sewing needs, they have some amazing stuff on there! And it’s extremely well-organized, which I honestly can’t say for a lot of online fabric vendors. And they delivered my order within two days, which is unprecedented. So go to Onlinefabricstore.net and browse their silks and satins, cottons and wools, linens and knits, because I promise you, it’s worth it! Consider this your chance to have greatness thrust upon you! See? It’s totally a pick up line. Seriously. Malvolio? More like MalvoliHO! Or maybe just ignore that and look at my pretty jacket. What? I always read standing against a wall of greenery in a hand-made jacket. Don’t you?

23 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Fabric, Sewing, Simplicity Patterns, Vintage

23 responses to “The Jump Or Be Pushed Jacket

  1. Fabulous! Great first attempt at a jacket and so brave to use a vintage pattern! Sadly my last Jacket ended up a Wadder. Ah well never mind! Next will be better! x

  2. I am so, so, so (sew), impressed that you made a jacket! First jeans, now a jacket; you are making my things-I’m-too-scared-to-sew list! Will you also make a slinky bias cut evening gown next? 😉

    I think it’s fine if the arms and shoulders are a bit loose. I mean, what if you need to punch someone who wants to steal your awesome jacket from you? You need that ease to have a full range of motion. And that waist looks fantastic. If you find someone who’s buying starlet suit classes for people, please let them know I’d like one too.

    Maybe your grandmother wanted to outfit a whole group of WWII nurses?

    • Haha, yeah, that must have been it. She was just that generous.

      Bias cut evening gown? Check. On it. Should just be able to bang that out in what, an hour? Maybe two? No problem.

      That is an excellent point about shoulder ease. I need to be prepared for the possibility that someone might want to take this. Ever vigilant. Like batman.

  3. Law

    This jacket is lovely. I love the gathering on the sleeve shoulders. Its totally a dress-up or down piece you can wear loads.

    • Thank you! I was worried that the layers of fabric wouldn’t gather easily, but it worked out just fine, thank goodness. I’m hoping to get a lot of wear out of this this spring.

  4. Miriana

    It looks fab!

  5. It looks awesome. You did quite well. It looks fab!

  6. Adorable! Fabric, style, lining all work really well together and great fit.

  7. Who is that mysterious, stylish lady reading against the ivy? Must. Approach. Her. The jacket turned out so lovely. Jumpers are way better than those waiting to be pushed. Coy.. bah!
    Princess seams! Yes! I had fun with them this week, too (wait for SW post).

  8. this looks great on you! the 40s design really shows off your figure. this will probably be in heavy rotation in your wardrobe because it’s black and so versatile. thanks for the shopping link! i’m always looking for new fabric resources online. and yes, i am jealous of your matching notebook. 🙂

    • Thank you! I think I like the 40’s best of all, I do, the styles work well for my figure and it’s a fabric efficient era, which I can’t help but admire.

      I do think onlinefabricstore.net is super well organized, so I hope you find something you love!

  9. Say, this looks great! It’s such a flattering shape, and the linen really looks nice! You definitely chose the right pattern!

    Also– that dress! I love the print! You’re out of control with the matching notebook! OUT OF CONTROL.

    • Thank you! It was a hard decision, pattern-wise, but I think this was the best use of the fabric, and the nice thing about 40’s patterns is that they are super efficient!

      Yeah, matching dress and notebook is the new hot thing, didn’t you know? I’m sure I’m starting all sorts of trends.

  10. It looks really good! and I LOVE the dress!
    The shoulders on 40’s pattern’s usually look a bit odd on me but it looks really cute on you.
    Lovin the princess seams too!

    x

  11. Pingback: Me Made May Days 8 through 11 including the Swing Swish Dance Outfit | Struggle Sews a Straight Seam

Leave a comment